CITEGO

Identity card

CITEGO is a collective adventure based on the sharing and pooling of experience and reflection.

The CITEGO resources site has a long history. It is based on the firm belief that exchanges of experience between practitioners lead to knowledge that is particularly helpful for action. In 1986, as part of various FPH (Foundation for the Progress of Humankind) partnerships, the spaces and methods developed to encourage such exchanges led to the creation of a number of resource sites that were brought together in COREDEM. Ten years later, the realisation that cities and territories would be called on to play a decisive role in the transition to sustainable societies generated interest in the creation of a specific website. In 2008, the first website was created. In 2015, CITEGO became an association under the French law of 1901. Both the bureau and the team of salaried employees are composed of experts in territorial management. In 2017, CITEGO took another step forward and began directly supporting territorial actors in their transition processes, with a methodology based on changing practices. CITEGO has become a co-producer of transmittable knowledge. This methodology is described in our modes of action (www.citego.org/spip.php?article30).

CITEGO sees itself as a third-party mediator, promoting the exchange of experience and sharing of knowledge between practitioners, researchers, elected officials, associations and citizens on matters related to the governance and role of territories in the transition to sustainable societies. The goal of mediation is to overcome walls separating institutions, academic disciplines and socio-professional categories in order to partner knowledge with action, strengthen a transversal approach and contribute to continuous training.

CITEGO provides diverse types of partners with a conceptual framework, methods and tools that correspond to the successive stages in the mediation cycle, including the relational atlas (www.citego.org/rubrique-15_fr.html).

Objectives

CITEGO concentrates on achieving three major objectives:

  • ‘reveal’ the systemic character of the territory by helping actors identify relationships between the technical, economic, cultural, social, conceptual and institutional as well as financial dimensions;

  • overcome barriers separating institutions, disciplines and socio-professional categories;

  • be both sharers of knowledge and drivers of this change.

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • training
  • networking of actors
  • development of teaching material
  • development of participatory tools and methods

Thematic areas

  • governance
  • local territory management
  • tools & methods
  • information

CITEGO

Carte d’identité

CITEGO est une aventure collective reposant sur le partage et la mutualisation de l’expérience et de la réflexion.

Le fonds documentaire de CITEGO est le fruit d’une longue histoire, fondée sur la conviction que l’échange d’expériences entre praticiens créait une connaissance particulièrement précieuse pour l’action. Dès 1986, dans le cadre de divers partenariats de la Fondation Pour le Progrès de l’Homme, des espaces et des méthodes développés en ce sens ont donnée naissance à différents sites ressources fédérés dans la COREDEM. Une décennie plus tard, la conviction que les villes et territoires seraient appelés à jouer un rôle décisif dans la transition vers des sociétés durables suscite l’intérêt particulier de promouvoir un site dédié. En 2008, le premier site web est créé. En 2015, CITEGO devient une association loi 1901, dont le bureau et l’équipe salariée sont composés d’experts de la gestion territoriale. En 2017, CITEGO franchit une nouvelle étape pour accompagner directement les acteurs territoriaux dans leurs démarches de transition au travers d’une méthodologie axée sur l’évolution des pratiques. CITEGO devient co-producteur de connaissances transmissibles. Cette méthodologie est décrite dans nos modes d’action (www.citego.org/spip.php?article30).

CITEGO s’envisage comme un tiers-médiateur, qui promeut l’échange d’expériences et le partage de connaissances entre praticiens, chercheurs, élus, associations et citoyens, autour des questions liées à la gouvernance des territoires et à leur rôle dans la transition vers des sociétés durables. Ce travail de médiation est mené avec l’objectif de dépasser les cloisonnements institutionnels, disciplinaires ou socio-professionnels, afin de rapprocher la connaissance de l’action, de renforcer une approche transversale des enjeux et de nourrir la formation permanente.

CITEGO met à disposition de partenaires de différentes natures un cadre conceptuel, des méthodes et des outils de travail correspondant aux stades successifs du cycle de médiation, dont l’atlas relationnel (www.citego.org/rubrique-15_fr.html).

Objectifs

CITEGO poursuit trois grands objectifs :

  • « donner à voir » le caractère systémique du territoire, en aidant les acteurs à établir les relations entre les dimensions techniques, économiques, culturelles, sociales, conceptuelles, institutionnelles que financières ;

  • dépasser les cloisonnements institutionnels, disciplinaires ou socio-professionnels  ;

  • être à la fois des passeurs de connaissances et des moteurs de ce changement.

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • élaboration de matériel pédagogique
  • développement d’outils et de méthodes participatifs

Thèmes de travail

  • gouvernance
  • gestion des territoires
  • outils et méthodes
  • information