International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems (IPES-Food) (IPES-Food)

Identity card

The International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems (IPES-Food) was founded in 2014 in order to fill a gap in global debates on food and farming systems. By combining knowledge across multiple scientific disciplines with insights from civil society and social movements, IPES-Food brings together expert voices to provide independent, authoritative analysis on what reforms are required to build sustainable food systems, and how these changes might occur in a context of major power imbalances. The panel is co-chaired by Olivier De Schutter, former UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food, and Olivia Yambi, nutritionist and former UNICEF representative to Kenya.

IPES-Food’s first thematic report, From Uniformity to Diversity (2016), made the case for a paradigm shift from industrial agriculture to diversified agroecological systems and identified 8 ‘lock-ins’ holding back transition. The panel’s report, ‘Too Big to Feed’ (2017), zoomed in one of these lock-ins – concentration of power – in considering the impacts of the recent spate of mega-mergers in the agri-food sector. A further report, ‘Unravelling the Food-Health Nexus’ (2017), provided a comprehensive overview of the health impacts of industrial food systems and underlined the case for wholesale reform on the grounds of protecting human health. A case studies report on urban food policies (2017) drew lessons from five cities around the world to understand how to overcome barriers to put sustainable food policies in place. Since 2016, IPES-Food has also been convening multi-stakeholder processes in Europe and West Africa to co-develop food policy blueprints with civil society groups, scientists, policymakers and food and farming organizations.

Objectives

The panel’s objectives are to:

  • Conduct transdisciplinary research on sustainable food systems, identifying gaps in knowledge;

  • Shape the understanding of all actors in the food systems, including governments, intergovernmental organizations, non-governmental organizations (including civil society bodies) and the scientific community, concerning the challenges food systems face and the pathways towards transition to sustainable food systems, taking into account the power imbalances that may be an obstacle to reform;

  • Encourage, promote and support policies at all levels that can accelerate the transition to sustainable food systems;

  • Convene diverse groups of stakeholders to inform the work of the panel and to develop a shared understanding of obstacles to and opportunities for reform.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • legal action
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • diffusion of best pratices creation of labels
  • case studies, models and simulations
  • development of participatory tools and methods
  • non-governmental, citizen democracy
  • research, analysis

Target audience

  • policy-makers
  • European institutions
  • European civil society
  • researchers, scientists
  • organised civil society

Thematic areas

  • governance
  • economy
  • agriculture and food
  • environment
  • local territory management
  • research and technological innovation
  • Climate energy
  • democracy
  • culture

International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems (IPES-Food) (IPES-Food)

Carte d’identité

Le Panel international d’experts sur les systèmes alimentaires durables (IPES-Food) a été fondé en 2014 afin de combler des lacunes dans les débats internationaux sur les systèmes alimentaires et agricoles. Associant le savoir de plusieurs disciplines scientifiques avec l’expérience de la société civile et des mouvements sociaux, IPES-Food combine l’expertise d’un panel d’experts pour produire des analyses indépendantes et rigoureuses sur les réformes nécessaires à la construction de systèmes alimentaires durables ; tout en définissant comment ces changements peuvent se produire dans un contexte caractérisé par d’importants déséquilibres de pouvoir. Le panel est coprésidé par Olivier De Schutter, ancien Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur le droit à l’alimentation, et Olivia Yambi, nutritionniste et ancienne représentante de l’UNICEF auprès du Kenya.

Le premier rapport thématique d’IPES-Food, « From Uniformity to Diversity » (2016), plaide en faveur d’un changement de paradigme de l’agriculture industrielle vers des systèmes agroécologiques diversifiés, et identifie huit « verrous » qui bloquent cette transition. Le rapport du panel, « Too Big To Feed » (2017), est axé sur l’un de ces verrous – la concentration du pouvoir – et considère les impacts de la récente série de mégafusions dans le secteur agroalimentaire. Le rapport qui lui a succédé, intitulé « Unraveling the Nexus Food-Health » (2017), donne un aperçu complet des impacts sur la santé des systèmes alimentaires industriels et souligne la nécessité d’entreprendre d’importantes réformes pour protéger la santé humaine. Enfin, le rapport d’études de cas sur les politiques alimentaires urbaines (2017) tire des enseignements de cinq villes du monde pour comprendre comment surmonter les barrières obstruant la mise en place de politiques alimentaires durables au niveau municipal. En parallèle, depuis 2016, IPES-Food organise des processus multipartites en Europe et en Afrique de l’Ouest pour co-développer des politiques alimentaires avec des groupes de la société civile, des scientifiques, des décideurs politiques et des organisations paysannes.

Objectifs

Le Panel a pour objectifs :

  • de mener des recherches transdisciplinaires sur les systèmes alimentaires durables, et d’identifier les manques dans les connaissances disponibles ;

  • de structurer la compréhension de tous les acteurs des systèmes alimentaires, y compris les gouvernements, les organisations intergouvernementales, non gouvernementales (ONG et autres représentations de la société civile) et la communauté scientifique sur les enjeux auxquels sont confrontés les systèmes alimentaires, et les chemins possibles vers une transition durable des systèmes alimentaires, prenant en compte le déséquilibre des forces susceptible d’être un onstacle à toute réforme ;

  • encourager, promouvoir et soutenir des politiques à tous les niveaux qui peuvent accélérer la transition vers des systèmes alimentaires durables ;

  • convier des groupes d’acteurs divers à des événements pour les informer sur le travail du panel ou pour développer une compréhension commune des obstacles à et des opportunités de réforme.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • action juridique
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • diffusion de bonnes pratiques, création de labels
  • études de cas, modèles et simulations
  • développement d’outils et de méthodes participatifs
  • diplomatie citoyenne, non gouvernementale
  • recherche, analyse

Publics cibles

  • décideurs politiques
  • Institutions européennes
  • société civile européenne
  • chercheurs, scientifiques
  • société civile organisée

Thèmes de travail

  • gouvernance
  • économie
  • agriculture et alimentation
  • environnement
  • gestion des territoires
  • recherche et innovation technologique
  • climat énergie
  • démocratie
  • culture