Agricultural and rural convention (ARC 2020) (ARC 2020)

Identity card

Beyond technicalities and proposals fit for purpose, changing EU policies requires to broaden the scope of societals debates and to ensure that the principles of cohesion and solidarity remain at the core of the European Union. At every moment the EU risks to lose the sense of his community of destiny. ARC2020 is acting as NGO to facilitate the understanding of EU policies affecting food, agricultural and rural areas, while allowing people on the ground and civil society to take part in various policy-making processes. Overall ARC2020 is accompanying trends towards policy change at EU and national levels from a civil society perspective, and provide first-hand information on policies and practices.

Objectives

Our objectives are threefold:

To inform associations and non-governmental organizations on agricultural, food, environmental, rural and commercial issues in European policies and at international level, by all means and media.

To promote and to manage the networking of activities and synergies between associations and non-governmental organizations in the fields and policies related to agriculture, rural development, food, environment, public health, trade and research, at European and international level, by all means and media.

To facilitate the participation of non-governmental and associative actors in consultations and dialogues with the public authorities on agricultural, food, environmental, public health, rural, commercial and research policies, at European and international level, by all means and supports.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • networking of actors
  • mobilization, rally
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information
  • documentaries, films, videos, animated films
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • diffusion of best pratices creation of labels
  • non-governmental, citizen democracy
  • research, analysis

Target audience

  • NGO
  • European civil society
  • organised civil society
  • farmers, farmers’ unions
  • European institutions
  • policy-makers
  • public authorities, elected representatives, administrations

Thematic areas

  • governance
  • economy
  • agriculture and food
  • environment
  • local territory management
  • research and technological innovation
  • Climate energy
  • migration
  • tools & methods
  • information
  • democracy
  • citizenship
  • woman & gender
  • commons

Agricultural and rural convention (ARC 2020) (ARC 2020)

Carte d’identité

Au-delà de la technicité et des propositions, l’évolution des politiques de l’UE nécessite d’élargir le champ des débats sociétaux et de veiller à ce que les principes de cohésion et de solidarité restent au cœur de l’Union européenne. À chaque instant, l’UE risque de perdre le sens de sa communauté de destin. ARC2020 agit en tant qu’ONG pour faciliter la compréhension des politiques de l’UE touchant les secteurs alimentaire, agricole et rural, tout en permettant aux personnes sur le terrain et à la société civile de prendre part à divers processus d’élaboration de politiques. Dans l’ensemble, ARC2020 accompagne les tendances en matière de changement de politique aux niveaux européen et national du point de vue de la société civile, et fournit des informations de première main sur les politiques et les pratiques.

Objectifs

Nos objectifs sont triples :

Informer les associations et les organisations non gouvernementales sur les questions agricoles, alimentaires, environnementales, rurales et commerciales dans les politiques européennes et au niveau international, par tous les moyens et médias.

Promouvoir et gérer la mise en réseau d’activités et de synergies entre associations et organisations non gouvernementales dans les domaines et politiques liés à l’agriculture, au développement rural, à l’alimentation, à l’environnement, à la santé publique, au commerce et à la recherche et les médias.

Faciliter la participation des acteurs non gouvernementaux et associatifs aux consultations et dialogues avec les pouvoirs publics sur les politiques agricoles, alimentaires, environnementales, de santé publique, rurales, commerciales et de recherche, au niveau européen et international, par tous les moyens et supports.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information
  • documentaires, films, vidéos, animations
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • diffusion de bonnes pratiques, création de labels
  • diplomatie citoyenne, non gouvernementale
  • recherche, analyse

Publics cibles

  • ONG
  • société civile européenne
  • société civile organisée
  • Paysans, organisations paysannes
  • Institutions européennes
  • décideurs politiques
  • autorités publiques, élus, administrations

Thèmes de travail

  • gouvernance
  • économie
  • agriculture et alimentation
  • environnement
  • gestion des territoires
  • recherche et innovation technologique
  • climat énergie
  • migration
  • outils et méthodes
  • information
  • démocratie
  • citoyenneté
  • femme et genre
  • communs