Terre de Liens (TDL)

Identity card

Stop agricultural land from disappearing, help farmers looking for land to farm, and develop organic and small-scale farming. These are the commitments that rally Terre de Liens in 20 regions of France. Our initiative is based on an atypical associative and citizen dynamic: the public’s savings and donations are used to acquire agricultural land and recreate a link between farmers and citizens so that farms are preserved for generations. These lands are then rented to farmers who grow crops that encourage biodiversity and soil conservation.

Terre de Liens also informs the public and enters into partnerships with local decision-makers to create new territorial dynamics. Objective: get as many people as possible involved in the future of our rural areas and provide an opportunity to exercise our collective responsibility.

Terre de Liens is still a young movement, but it clearly corresponds to expectations in French society, as there are already 13,000 citizens involved, 200 farmers installed or being installed and 3000 hectares devoted to organic or small-scale farming.

Objectives

– Continue to use agricultural lands for agriculture,

– Guarantee sustainable use of land and natural resources,

– Experiment with managing agricultural land as commons,

– Help farmers get started in organic or small-scale farming,

– Make agricultural lands everyone’s concern.

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • training
  • networking of actors
  • mobilization, rally
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • development of teaching material
  • diffusion of best pratices creation of labels
  • development of participatory tools and methods

Target audience

  • farmers, farmers’ unions
  • youth
  • organised civil society
  • citizens

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • education
  • environment
  • local territory management
  • Climate energy
  • responsibility
  • research and social innovation
  • commons
  • citizenship

Terre de Liens (TDL)

Carte d’identité

Enrayer la disparition des terres agricoles, alléger le parcours des agriculteurs qui cherchent à s’installer, et développer l’agriculture biologique et paysanne. Voici les engagements qui mobilisent Terre de Liens à travers 20 régions de France. Notre initiative s’appuie sur une dynamique associative et citoyenne atypique : l’épargne et les dons du public permettent d’acquérir du foncier agricole et de recréer du lien entre paysans et citoyens pour préserver les fermes à travers les générations. Ces lieux sont ensuite proposés en location à des agriculteurs pour des productions favorisant la biodiversité et le respect des sols.

Au-delà, Terre de Liens informe l’opinion publique et noue des partenariats avec les décideurs locaux pour impulser de nouvelles dynamiques dans les territoires. L’objectif : impliquer le plus grand nombre dans l’avenir de nos campagnes, et donner l’occasion d’exercer notre responsabilité collective.

Terre de Liens est un mouvement jeune, mais il répond vraisemblablement à une forte attente de la société française : déjà 13000 citoyens impliqués, 200 agriculteurs installés ou en cours d’installation et 3000 hectares destinés à une agriculture biologique ou paysanne.

Objectifs

  • Maintenir les terres en usage agricole,

  • Garantir un usage durable de la terre et des ressources naturelles,

  • Expérimenter des modalités de gestion de la terre agricole comme commun,

  • Faciliter l’installation d’agriculteurs en agriculture bio et paysanne

  • Faire des terres agricoles l’affaire de tous

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • élaboration de matériel pédagogique
  • diffusion de bonnes pratiques, création de labels
  • développement d’outils et de méthodes participatifs

Publics cibles

  • Paysans, organisations paysannes
  • jeunes
  • société civile organisée
  • citoyens

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • éducation
  • environnement
  • gestion des territoires
  • climat énergie
  • responsabilité
  • recherche et innovation sociale
  • communs
  • citoyenneté