UNESCO CHAIR IN WORLD FOOD SYSTEMS (UNESCO Chair)

Identity card

The Unesco Chair in World Food Systemss was created in 2011 by Prof. Jean-Louis Rastoin (Montpellier SupAgro) with a multidisciplinary group of teachers and researchers from various institutions of Agropolis International. It has been labeled by UNESCO and received its main financial support from Agropolis Foundation and the Daniel and Nina Carasso Foundation.

These supports have enabled the launch of training programs, researches and science-society dialogues within an international scientific network, largely open to Africa, Asia and Latin America.

At the end of its first four years of activity, the Chair was again labeled by UNESCO in July 2015 for a second four-year period.

The Chair represents an open plateform of exchanges and experimentations to help invent and promote more sustainable food systems, especially in cities, with the conviction that food is much more than an economic sector. It also covers considerable challenges in terms of the environment, health, solidarity, the construction of identities and cultures, artistic practices, etc. Each of these functions corresponds to scientific disciplines that the Chair intends to decompartmentalize to develop a holistic approach to food.

Objectives

  • Organize a reflexive dialogue between, on the one hand, the different scientific disciplines and, on the other hand, between scientists and the various actors of transition (public and local authorities, NGOs and associations, private sector, international expertise, foundations , etc.) often poorly connected to research. This dialogue makes it possible to connect the scientific community on societal issues and to support the actors of transition through research results

  • constitute a dialogue and transfer platform

  • Take action through a few experimental projects, co-built: « exemplary canteen » of Montpellier SupAgro; ISARD project of census and valorization of initiatives for a sustainable food; support for the agroecological and food policy of Montpellier Méditerranée Métropole

  • constitute a platform for experimentation and project editing

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • networking of actors
  • training
  • mobilization, rally
  • books, reviews publishing
  • documentaries, films, videos, animated films
  • development of teaching material
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • research, analysis
  • case studies, models and simulations

Target audience

  • students
  • researchers, scientists
  • public authorities, elected representatives, administrations
  • local authorities
  • NGO
  • associations
  • experts

Thematic areas

  • agriculture and food
  • governance
  • law and justice
  • economy
  • environment
  • local territory management
  • research and social innovation

CHAIRE UNESCO ALIMENTATIONS DU MONDE (Chaire UNESCO)

Carte d’identité

La Chaire Unesco Alimentations du monde a été créée en 2011 par le Prof. Jean-Louis Rastoin (Montpellier SupAgro) avec un groupe pluridisciplinaire d’enseignants et de chercheurs de diverses institutions d’Agropolis International. Elle a été labellisée par l’Unesco et reçu ses principaux soutiens financiers de Agropolis Fondation et de la Fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso. 

Ces soutiens ont permis le lancement d’activités de formation, de recherche et de dialogue entre sciences et société au sein d’un réseau scientifique international, largement ouvert à l’Afrique, l’Asie et l’Amérique latine.

À l’issue de ses quatre premières années d’activités, la Chaire a été à nouveau labellisée par l’Unesco en juillet 2015 pour une seconde période de quatre ans.

La Chaire représente un espace ouvert et décloisonné d’échange et d’expérimentation pour contribuer à inventer et promouvoir des systèmes alimentaires plus durables, notamment en ville, avec la conviction que l’alimentation est bien plus qu’un secteur économique. Elle recouvre également des enjeux considérables en matière d’environnement, de santé, de solidarité, de construction des identités et des cultures, de pratiques artistiques, etc. À chacune de ces fonctions correspondent des disciplines scientifiques que la Chaire entend décloisonner pour développer une approche holistique de l’alimentation.

Objectifs

  • Organiser un dialogue réflexif entre, d’une part, les différentes disciplines scientifiques et, d’autre part, entre les scientifiques et les différents acteurs du changement (pouvoir publics et collectivités territoriales, ONG et associations, secteur privé, expertise internationale, fondations, etc.) souvent peu ou mal connectés à la recherche. Ce dialogue permet de brancher la communauté scientifique sur des questions sociétales et de soutenir les acteurs du changement par des résultats de recherche

  • constituer une plateforme de dialogues et de transferts

  • Passer à l’action à travers quelques projets expérimentaux, co-construits : « Cantine exemplaire » de Montpellier SupAgro ; projet ISARD de recensement et valorisation d’initiatives pour une alimentation durable ; soutien à la politique agroécologique et alimentaire de Montpellier Méditerranée Métropole

  • constituer une plateforme d’expérimentation et montage de projets

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • formation
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • documentaires, films, vidéos, animations
  • élaboration de matériel pédagogique
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • recherche, analyse
  • études de cas, modèles et simulations

Publics cibles

  • étudiants
  • chercheurs, scientifiques
  • autorités publiques, élus, administrations
  • collectivités territoriales
  • ONG
  • associations
  • experts

Thèmes de travail

  • agriculture et alimentation
  • gouvernance
  • droit
  • économie
  • environnement
  • gestion des territoires
  • recherche et innovation sociale