FORUM SYNERGIES

Identity card

Forum Synergies is a non-profit association of engaged citizens, organisations and active practitioners engaged in sustainable rural development. We work together for a living countryside.

Since 1994, our network supports people and organisations who are engaging for a more sustainable, more democratic and creative rural life.

Our mission is to enable the exchange of experiences, to promote synergies and to support a constructive dialogue between stakeholders, all over Europe from local to European level.

For us, sustainable development is a process of continuous change, building upon local initiatives, promoting the careful use of land and local resources, mobilising the knowledge and ambitions of local communities with a spirit of innovation for a better life.

Forum Synergies is about crossing physical and mental borders. We offer space for people who wish to re-connect what seems to be falling apart : farming with nature, heritage and innovation, food and health, civil society and political decision-making.

We propose local workshops on a specific theme in order to discover a sense of place ; they include field trips to visit success stories and innovative projects. We encourage people to strengthen the European dimension while getting involved in decision-making where they live.

We support participative democracy in local initiatives and we offer space and guidance for dialogue with politicians. We organise gatherings, workshops and conferences which build bridges between rural stakeholders from the local to the European level.

We have co-initiated a number of European networks working on rural development and farm policies, including PREPARE (Partnership for Rural Europe) working in EU accession and neighbourhood countries, and ARC2020 (Agricultural and Rural Convention) which gathers a broad alliance of European stakeholders pressing for a genuine paradigm change in policies for agriculture and rural development.

Objectives

In terms of sustainable rural developement and contribution to a lively European countryside:

  • enable the exchange of experiences;

  • pormote synergies and

  • support a constructive dialogue between stakeholders, all over Europe from local to European level.

Modes of action

  • training
  • networking of actors
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • development of participatory tools and methods
  • diffusion of best pratices creation of labels

Target audience

  • farmers, farmers’ unions
  • local authorities
  • public authorities, elected representatives, administrations
  • international institutions
  • activists, campaigners
  • associations
  • policy-makers

Thematic areas

  • environment
  • agriculture and food
  • governance
  • local territory management
  • tools & methods
  • democracy
  • commons

FORUM SYNERGIES

Carte d’identité

Forum Synergies est une organisation européenne à but non lucratif. Elle rassemble des citoyen.ne.s, des organisations et des professionnel.le.s engagé.e.s pour un développement rural durable. Ils travaillent ensemble pour un monde rural vivant.

Le réseau soutient les personnes et les organisations qui s’impliquent pour une vie rurale plus innovante, plus durable et plus démocratique.

Forum Synergies cherche à traverser les frontières physiques et mentales ent offrir un espace de confiance pour les personnes qui souhaitent re-connecter ce qui semble se désagréger : agriculture et nature, patrimoine et innovation, alimentation et santé, société civile et prise de décision politique.

L’organisation propose des ateliers locaux sur une thématique spécifique, qui comprennent des visites de terrain pour visualiser des histoires réussies et des projets innovants. Les personnes sont encouragées à s’impliquer dans les processus de décision là où elles vivent tout en renforçant la dimension européenne.

Forum Synergies soutient la démocratie participative dans les initiatives locales et offre un espace et une orientation pour le dialogue avec les décideurs. Des rencontres, des ateliers et des conférences jettent des ponts entre acteurs ruraux, du niveau local au niveau européen.

L’organisation a co-initié un certain nombre de réseaux européens travaillant sur le développement rural et les politiques agricoles : comme PREPARE (Partenariat pour l’Europe rurale) travaillant sur l’adhésion à l’UE et les pays voisins, ou ARC2020 (Convention agricole et rurale) qui rassemble une large alliance d’acteurs et organisations européennes et préconise un véritable changement de paradigme dans les politiques agricoles et de développement rural.

Objectifs

En matière de développement rural durable et de maintien d’un monde rural vivant en Europe :

  • permettre l’échange d’expériences,

  • promouvoir les synergies et

  • soutenir un dialogue constructif entre acteurs, partout en Europe, du niveau local au niveau européen.

Modes d’action

  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • développement d’outils et de méthodes participatifs
  • diffusion de bonnes pratiques, création de labels

Publics cibles

  • Paysans, organisations paysannes
  • collectivités territoriales
  • autorités publiques, élus, administrations
  • institutions internationales
  • activistes, militants
  • associations
  • décideurs politiques

Thèmes de travail

  • environnement
  • agriculture et alimentation
  • gouvernance
  • gestion des territoires
  • outils et méthodes
  • démocratie
  • communs