AgroEcology Fund (AEF)

Identity card

The AgroEcology Fund supports grassroots food and farming systems that build on existing local and traditional culture and knowledge, incorporate scientific advances, and challenge the institutions that drive industrial agriculture and corporate concentration in the food system. The AgroEcology Fund was created to offer a model of grant making and learning through which foundations can achieve more together than they can separately. The AgroEcology Fund consolidates philanthropic resources, strengthens grantee networks, and enables organizations to share technical and advocacy expertise. The AgroEcology Fund works closely with other funder collaboratives to advance learning on agroecological solutions, such as the Global Alliance for the Future of Food, the European Funders of Sustainable Agriculture and Food and the EDGE Funders Alliance.

Today, there are unprecedented opportunities to advance agroecology globally. Agroecology is recognized as both a mitigation and adaptation strategy for climate change. There is a growing recognition of the symbiosis between conservation and agriculture. Conservationists increasingly perceive the importance of guaranteeing small farmers’ land tenure so that they can be effective ecological stewards and guardians of biodiversity. Consumers/eaters are increasingly demanding healthier food and a closer connection to food producers. Social movements around the globe – many with significant leadership by women’s and indigenous organizations – are coalescing in campaigns for a healthy food system built on an environmental and human rights ethos. Worldwide, scientists, grassroots organizations, NGOs, consumers, universities, and public agencies are working with farmers to construct sustainable, just and nutritious food systems based in agroecology. The demand for agroecology is rising.

The AgroEcology Fund is a multi-donor fund supporting agroecological practices and policies, administered by the New Venture Fund. The Fund aims to support viable food systems, promote the economic well-being of small farmers and their communities, and mitigate climate change through low input agriculture featuring sustainable land and water use. The AgroEcology Fund encourages collaboration locally, regionally and globally among organizations to achieve greater scale and impact in advancing agroecological solutions. With the guidance of an informed, on-the-ground advisory board (the full list can be found here: www.agroecologyfund.org/leadership-and-allies/), the Fund supports effective practitioners, researchers and advocates of agroecology across the world.

Objectives

1) Shift and Leverage Significant Financial Resources Towards Agroecology

  • Double the AgroEcology Fund’s (AEF) annual grantmaking pool to $2 million in five years;

  • Influence private foundation funding (not including AEF grants) to shift $10 million toward AE efforts in five years;

  • Influence large-scale funding from public sector budgets, leveraging a significant shift of resources (tens of millions of US dollars) toward agroecology in five years.

  • Develop and implement a plan for AEF to promote mechanisms for leveraging foundation and private sector resources toward agroecology, including impact investing, enterprise loans, etc.

2) Strengthen Political and Economic Systems to Enable Agroecology to Thrive

  • Fund grassroots collaboratives that are influencing national policies to support new economy food systems and shift support away from industrial agriculture;

  • Fund a campaign to halt and redirect a major financier of industrial agriculture;

  • Develop and implement a strategy to direct bi- and multi-lateral development agencies’ investments toward agroecology;

  • Design and implement a strategy to influence private foundations and large NGO’s to desist from funding industrial agriculture and redirect resources toward agroecology.

3) Influence the Global Conversation about Solutions to Global Hunger by Amplifying Agroecological Solutions

  • Extend grants that support and strengthen the communications capacity of grantees to reach and move their targeted constituencies;

  • Amplify messages and stories gathered from, and co-created with, AEF’s grantee partners and allies, featuring focus on science, practice, rights and policy changes;

  • Use AEF’s growing communications capacity and expertise to place messages and stories from around the world in highly visible, strategic outlets in order to inform and advocate for exemplary agroecological practices and policies;

  • Help shift the dominant narrative about food and hunger, craft and implement a comprehensive communications plan to be a powerful voice in the philanthropy community that provides evidence and inspiration about the viability of agroecological food systems while exposing threats posed by corporate concentration and industrial systems.

4) Co-Create and Share AE Knowledge and Practice

  • Map actors with whom AEF can collaborate in ongoing relationship to fortify co-creation and amplification of knowledge about agroecology;

  • Implement a monitoring, evaluation and learning system that analyzes learnings about agroecological amplification from grantee partners and broadly disseminates key lessons to influence fields of development, philanthropy and public policy;

  • Make grants to advance collaborative learning and knowledge sharing among farmers and allies, with focus on integrating practice, science, and policy shifts;

  • Convene an international learning and knowledge exchange in 2019 among grantees, advisors, donors and allies and disseminate conclusions and recommendations broadly.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • research, analysis
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • mobilization, rally
  • networking of actors
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • diffusion of best pratices creation of labels

Target audience

  • farmers, farmers’ unions
  • youth
  • women
  • organised civil society
  • foundations, donors

Thematic areas

  • agriculture and food
  • commons
  • environment
  • democracy
  • economy
  • local territory management
  • information
  • ethics
  • woman & gender
  • research and technological innovation
  • migration
  • responsibility
  • peace
  • research and social innovation
  • culture

AgroEcology Fund (AEF)

Carte d’identité

Le AgroEcology Fund soutient les pratiques alimentaires et agricoles qui s’appuient sur la culture et les connaissances locales et traditionnelles existantes, intègrent les avancées scientifiques et défient les institutions qui encouragent l’agriculture industrielle et la concentration des entreprises dans le secteur agro-alimentaire. Le AgroEcology Fund a été créé pour offrir un cadre de financement et d’apprentissage au sein duquel des fondations, parce qu’elles agissent ensemble, peuvent accomplir plus que si elles agissaient séparément. Le AgroEcology Fund agrège des ressources philanthropiques, renforce les réseaux de bénéficiaires et permet aux organisations de partager leur expertise technique et de plaidoyer. Le AgroEcology Fund travaille en étroite avec d’autres collectifs de bailleurs pour faire progresser l’apprentissage de solutions agroécologiques, telles que la Global Alliance for the Future of Food, le groupe EFSAF du Centre Européen des Fondations, et EDGE Funders Alliance.

Aujourd’hui, il existe des opportunités sans précédent pour faire progresser l’agroécologie à l’échelle mondiale. L’agroécologie est reconnue à la fois comme une stratégie d’atténuation et d’adaptation au changement climatique. Il y a une reconnaissance croissante de la symbiose entre la conservation et l’agriculture. Les « conservationnistes » perçoivent de plus en plus l’importance de garantir le régime foncier des petits agriculteurs afin qu’ils puissent être des gardiens écologiques efficaces et des gardiens de la biodiversité. Les consommateurs / mangeurs exigent de plus en plus des aliments plus sains et un lien plus étroit avec les producteurs alimentaires. Les mouvements sociaux à travers le monde - dont beaucoup sont dirigés par des organisations féminines et autochtones - organisent ensemble des campagnes pour un système alimentaire sain fondé sur une éthique environnementale et le respect des droits humains. Dans le monde entier, des scientifiques, des organisations de base, des ONG, des consommateurs, des universités et des organismes publics travaillent avec les agriculteurs pour construire des systèmes alimentaires durables, justes et nutritifs basés sur l’agroécologie. La demande pour l’agroécologie est en hausse.

Le AgroEcology Fund est un fonds multi-donateurs, administré par le New Venture Fund, soutenant les pratiques et les politiques agroécologiques. Le Fonds vise à soutenir des systèmes alimentaires viables, à promouvoir la prospérité économique des petits agriculteurs et de leurs communautés, et à atténuer les changements climatiques grâce à une agriculture à faibles intrants et à une utilisation durable des terres et de l’eau. Le AgroEcology Fund encourage la collaboration au niveau local, régional et mondial entre les organisations pour atteindre une masse critique et avoir un impact dans la promotion de solutions agroécologiques.

Sous la direction d’un comité consultatif éclairé et proche du terrain (la liste complète peut être consultée ici: www.agroecologyfund.org/leadership-and-allies/), le Fonds soutient des praticiens, des chercheurs et des défenseurs de l’agroécologie expérimentés à travers le monde.

Objectifs

1) Réorienter et mobiliser des ressources financières importantes pour l’agroécologie

  • Doubler le financement collectif annuel du Fonds AgroEcologie (AEF) pour l’amener à 2 millions de dollars dans cinq ans ;

  • Exercer une influence sur les fondations privées (hors dons de l’AEF) pour que 10 millions de dollars de dons soient réorientés vers l’agroécologie d’ici cinq ans;

  • Influencer les politiques d’investissement à grande échelle du secteur public, pour qu’une part importante des ressources (des dizaines de millions de dollars américains) finance l’agroécologie dans cinq ans ;

  • Élaborer et mettre en œuvre un plan que le AgroEcology Fund pourra diffuser sur les mécanismes à activer envers les fondations et les bailleurs privés pour qu’ils investissent dans l’agroécologie, tels que l’investissement à impact, les prêts aux entreprises, etc.

2) Renforcer les systèmes politiques et économiques pour permettre à l’agroécologie de prospérer

  • Financer des collaborations locales qui influencent les politiques nationales pour soutenir les systèmes alimentaires de la nouvelle économie et éloigner les subventions de l’agriculture industrielle ;

  • Financer une campagne pour dénoncer un financeur important de l’agriculture industrielle et l’inviter à financer l’agroécologie ;

  • Développer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie pour orienter les investissements bilatéraux et multilatéraux des agences de développement vers l’agroécologie ;

  • Concevoir et mettre en œuvre une stratégie visant à inciter les fondations privées et les grandes ONG à cesser de financer l’agriculture industrielle et à réorienter leurs ressources vers l’agroécologie.

3) Influencer le Grand Discours international sur les Solutions à la faim dans le monde en amplifiant le message sur les solutions agroécologiques

  • Acrroître le soutien au renforcement de la communication des bénéficiaires pour qu’ils atteignent leur publics cibles et les sensibilisent ;

  • Donner plus de visibilité aux messages et aux récits vécus et co-créés avec les partenaires de l’AEF et leurs alliés, sous différents angles science, pratiques, droits et changements de politiques ;

  • Utiliser la capacité grandissante de communication et d’expertise de l’AEF pour diffuser des messages et des récits du monde entier sur des supports très visibles et stratégiques afin d’informer le grand public et de plaider en faveur de pratiques et de politiques agroécologiques exemplaires ;

  • Aider à changer le discours dominant sur la nourriture et la faim, concevoir et mettre en place un plan de communication complet qui puisse être une voix puissante dans la communauté philanthropique mettant en avant des preuves de la viabilité des systèmes agroécologiques alimentaires et qui soit source d’inspiration et exposant par ailleurs les dangers de la concentration des entreprises et des systèmes agro-alimentaires industriels.

4) Co-créer et partager des connaissances et des pratiques AE

  • Cartographier les acteurs avec lesquels l’AEF peut collaborer dans une relation continue pour renforcer la co-création et l’amplification des connaissances sur l’agroécologie;

  • Mettre en œuvre un système de suivi, d’évaluation et d’apprentissage qui analyse les enseignements tirés du développement agroécologique des partenaires bénéficiaires et en diffuse largement les principaux enseignements pour influencer l’aide au développement, la philanthropie et les politiques publiques;

  • Faire des dons pour faire progresser l’apprentissage collaboratif et le partage des connaissances entre les agriculteurs et les alliés, en mettant l’accent sur l’intégration de la pratique, de la science et des changements de politiques;

  • Organiser un échange international de compétences et de connaissances en 2019 entre les bénéficiaires, les conseillers, les donateurs et les alliés et diffuser largement les conclusions et recommandations.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • recherche, analyse
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • diffusion de bonnes pratiques, création de labels

Publics cibles

  • Paysans, organisations paysannes
  • jeunes
  • femmes
  • société civile organisée
  • fondations, bailleurs

Thèmes de travail

  • agriculture et alimentation
  • communs
  • environnement
  • démocratie
  • économie
  • gestion des territoires
  • information
  • éthique
  • femme et genre
  • recherche et innovation technologique
  • migration
  • responsabilité
  • paix
  • recherche et innovation sociale
  • culture