Global Greengrants Fund UK/ Funders Initiative for Civil Society

Identity card

Environmental defenders – and in particular those who are challenging loss of biodiversity, environmental degradation and pollution of natural resources stemming from corporate activity – are among the most at-risk actors in the world. Yet this risk to life and livelihoods is just one part of a growing, global trend – from new restrictions on overseas funding, to the administrative harassment of CSOs, to media smear campaigns – that obstruct legitimate environmental protection. We call this trend closing space for civil society. Its effects are not limited to countries in the Global South and East, but have become of concern across Europe and the global North.

Yet the drivers and impacts of closing space on environmental protection are poorly understood, and the discourse among environmental funders – compared with the human rights community – is at an early stage. In response, in late 2017, the Funders’ Initiative for Civil Society (FICS) and Global Greengrants Fund (GGF) founded an international working group for environmental funders to help understand and counter these growing restrictions and contribute towards an enabling environment for civil society engaged in environmental protection. FICS is a donor collaborative, founded in 2016 to help build philanthropy’s capacity as a sector to respond to the global closing space trend through learning, innovation in grant-making, and collective action. GGF supports grassroots-led efforts to protect the planet and the rights of people around the world. Together, the working group seeks to exchange experiences and strategies, and works towards a shared understanding of and approaches to create an enabling environment for environmental grantees.

Objectives

The environmental funders working group has three main objectives :

1. To ensure that environmental funders in Europe, the US and the Global South have increased awareness of global trends, drivers and impacts of closing civic space, and better knowledge and use of resources and strategies to create an enabling environment for grantees protecting the natural environment.

2. To strengthen the evidence base of the impact of closing civic space on environmental grantmaking, and ensure funders in Europe, the US and the Global South have access to and use tools and strategies to create an enabling environment for environmental protection.

3. To build stronger, co-ordinated responses to the closing space for environmental protection with other constituencies engaged in the Funders’ Initiative for Civil Society.

Modes of action

  • networking of actors
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • expertise
  • case studies, models and simulations

Target audience

  • foundations, donors

Thematic areas

  • environment
  • Climate energy
  • tools & methods
  • information
  • democracy
  • ethics
  • responsibility

Global Greengrants Fund UK/ Funders Initiative for Civil Society

Carte d’identité

Les défenseurs de l’environnement – et en particulier ceux qui luttent contre la perte de biodiversité, la dégradation de l’environnement et la pollution des ressources naturelles générées par l’activité des entreprises – sont parmi les acteurs les plus menacés au monde. Cependant la menace qui pèse sur leur vie et sur leurs moyens d’existence n’est en fait qu’une partie de la tendance plus générale – depuis les restrictions imposées sur les financements étrangers, au harcèlement administratif auquel sont soumises les organisations de la société civile, en passant par les campagnes médiatiques de dénigrement - visant à empêcher toute action légitime de protection de l’environnement. Nous parlons de « rétrécissement de l’espace pour la société civile ». Ses effets ne se limitent pas aux pays du Sud et de l’Est ; ce rétrécissement devient une préoccupation dans toute l’Europe et plus largement dans tous les pays occidentaux.

Pour l’heure, les facteurs et les impacts du rétrécissement de l’espace démocratique sur la protection de l’environnement sont insuffisamment compris, et les discussions sur ce sujet chez les fondations axées sur l’environnement – par opposition à la communauté des défenseurs des droits de l’homme – ne font que commencer. Pour pallier ce déficit, fin 2017, la ‘Funders’ Initiative for Civil Society (FICS)’ et le ‘Global Greengrants Fund (GGF)’ ont lancé un groupe de travail international de fondations pour les aider à mieux comprendre les enjeux, à s’opposer aux restrictions toujours plus nombreuses, et à contribuer à maintenir un espace ouvert pour la société civile engagée dans la protection de l’environnement. La FICS est une initiative de collaboration entre donateurs, fondée en 2016, et dont l’objectif est de doter le secteur de la philanthropie de ses propres capacités pour lutter contre la tendance générale au rétrécissement de l’espace : apprentissage ; pratiques novatrices d’attribution de dons ; actions collectives. GGF soutient les efforts des communautés de base pour protéger la planète et les droits de l’homme à travers le monde. Le groupe de travail qu’ils ont créé ensemble vise à échanger les expériences et les stratégies et œuvre au développement d’une compréhension et d’approches communes pour créer un environnement ouvert pour les organisations environnementales.

Objectifs

Le groupe de travail des donateurs de la protection de l’environnement poursuit 3 objectifs principaux :

1. Veiller à ce que les financeurs de la protection de l’environnement en Europe, aux États-Unis et dans les pays du Sud acquièrent une conscience accrue des tendances générales, des facteurs et des impacts du rétrécissement de l’espace pour la société civile, soient mieux informés, puissent tirer le meilleur parti de leurs ressources et mettre en place des stratégies pour créer un cadre favorable à l’action des organisations de protection de la nature.

2. Accumuler les preuves de l’impact du rétrécissement de l’espace de la société civile sur la philanthropie environnementale, et veiller à ce que les financeurs en Europe aux US et dans les pays du Sud aient accès et utilisent les outils et les stratégies propres à développer un cadre propice à la protection de l’environnement.

3. Élaborer des réponses fortes et coordonnées au rétrécissement de l’espace avec d’autres structures engagées dans le FICS.

Modes d’action

  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • production d’expertise
  • études de cas, modèles et simulations

Publics cibles

  • fondations, bailleurs

Thèmes de travail

  • environnement
  • climat énergie
  • outils et méthodes
  • information
  • démocratie
  • éthique
  • responsabilité