Centre Eco-développement de Villarceaux (CEV)

Identity card

CEV (Centre Écodéveloppement de Villarceaux or Villarceaux Eco-development centre) is a non-profit association created under the 1901 French law of associations. It has been supported by the foundation since its creation in 2006. Its purpose is to lead the Villarceaux centre for reflection and information on how agriculture and rural areas contribute to the ecological transition. The association is also actively involved in actions and projects at the Bergerie site (events, showcasing / communication / training, development) and dialogue with territorial actors (territorial dimension). It provides a connection point for debate and controversies concerning rural territories that take place at higher levels (Natural Park, Region, France, Europe). Thus CEV is not just a focus group or cerebral think tank, but also a true territorial actor. The association combines intellectual endeavours with experiments/measurements in the field.

CEV thus promotes management and sustainable use of rural territories, and develops relationships with networks of actors working in this area at the local, regional, national and sometimes European levels. The goal is to produce and promote a new way of thinking about the territory, particularly with public authorities. The association also coordinates events at the Bergerie site in partnership with local actors (EARL du Chemin Neuf, Association Écosite, Coop Saveurs du Vexin, market gardners, etc.). To do so, CEV has formed pedagogical partnerships, organises theme-based seminars and acts as a bridge to the world of research. The association develops tools for communication and pedagogical supports, places them at partners’ disposal and assists in the creation of new workshops (wood, market gardening, bread-making, etc.) at the Bergerie.

CEV is part of the ITAB (French research institute for organic farming) network of experimentation sites. It is also a member of Afac-agroforesteries (Association Française Arbres Champêtres et Agroforesteries or French association for wild trees and agroforestry), AFA (Association Française d’Agronomie or French Association for Agronomy) and the Ateliers de Maîtrise d’Œuvre Urbaine (Urban planning workshops) in Cergy, France. CEV was very actively involved in the creation of ‘Paysages de l’après pétrole’ (Post-petroleum landscapes) and maintains strong links with this group.

Since 2014, the association has been presided over by Frédéric Zahm, agro-economy engineer-scientist at IRSTEA (National research institute of science and technology for environment and agriculture) and also president of the scientific council of IDEA (Indicateurs de durabilité en agriculture or Agriculture sustainability indicators).

Objectives

CEV’s goals are to:

  • lead a centre for reflection and information on the role of agriculture and, more widely, the rule territory, in bringing about an ecological, energetic and social transition,

  • work with and for actors at the Bergerie site in Villarceaux,

  • bring this reflection into various national networks and develop it.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • training
  • networking of actors
  • development of teaching material

Thematic areas

  • agriculture and food
  • environment
  • local territory management

Centre Eco-développement de Villarceaux (CEV)

Carte d’identité

L’association Centre Écodéveloppement de Villarceaux (CEV) est une association loi 1901 à but non lucratif, soutenue par la fondation depuis sa création en 2006. Son objet est d’animer à Villarceaux un pôle de réflexion et d’information sur la contribution de l’agriculture et des espaces ruraux à la transition écologique. Par ailleurs, l’association est activement impliquée dans des actions et projets sur le site de la Bergerie (animation, valorisation/communication/formation, développement) et le dialogue avec les acteurs du territoire (dimension territoriale), et fait la connexion avec les débats et controverses aux niveaux supérieurs au sujet des territoires ruraux (PNR, Région, France, Europe). CEV n’est donc pas seulement un groupe de réflexion, un laboratoire d’idées hors sol, mais aussi un acteur d’un territoire. L’association mêle travail intellectuel et expérimentations/mesures sur le terrain.

CEV promeut alors une gestion et un usage durable des territoires ruraux et développe des relations avec des réseaux d’acteurs travaillant sur cette thématique au niveau local, régional, national et parfois européen. Le but est de produire une nouvelle pensée du territoire et de la promouvoir notamment auprès des pouvoirs publics. L’association anime également le site de la Bergerie en partenariat avec les acteurs locaux (EARL du Chemin Neuf, Association Écosite, Coop Saveurs du Vexin, maraîchers…). Pour ceci, CEV a noué des partenariats pédagogiques, organise des séminaires thématiques et fait le lien avec le monde de la recherche. L’association développe et mets à disposition des autres partenaires des outils de communication et des supports pédagogiques et accompagne l’émergence de nouveaux ateliers (filière bois, maraîchage, panification, etc) à la Bergerie.

CEV fait partie du réseau des sites d’expérimentations de l’Institut Technique de l’Agriculture Biologique (ITAB). Par ailleurs, il est adhérent de l’Afac-agroforesteries (Association Française Arbres Champêtres et Agroforesteries), de l’AFA (Association Française d’Agronomie) et des Ateliers de Maîtrise d’Œuvre Urbaine de Cergy. CEV était très activement impliqué dans la création du collectif des « Paysages de l’après pétrole » et maintient des liens forts avec ce dernier.

Depuis 2014, l’association est présidée par Frédéric Zahm, Ingénieur-chercheur en agro-économie, IRSTEA et par ailleurs président du conseil scientifique d’IDEA (Indicateurs de durabilité en agriculture).

Objectifs

L’objectif de CEV est de :

  • animer un pôle de réflexion et d’information autour du rôle de l’agriculture et plus largement du territoire rural, pour une transition écologique, énergétique et sociale,

  • travailler avec et pour les acteurs du site de la Bergerie à Villarceaux,

  • faire avancer ces réflexions dans différents réseaux nationaux.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • élaboration de matériel pédagogique

Thèmes de travail

  • agriculture et alimentation
  • environnement
  • gestion des territoires