Sciences Citoyennes (ASC)

Identity card

Citizen Science Foundation is a non-profit association created in 2002.

Citizen Science has set itself two challenges:

* The first is to unite critical scientific researchers and ‘non-scientists’ engaged in fights (social, medical, environmental, agricultural, climatic) where they come up against—or dispute—dominant techno-science and official expertise.

* The second is to bring together actors involved in sectors that are often compartmentalised (agriculture, energy, bio-medical, environmental health, NTIC, patents, etc.) to reflect on and transversally ‘politicise’ science and expertise).

The association’s action is organised as follows:

* Citizen Science Foundation develops analyses of conditions prevailing in the French and European research and innovation system, consequences of the growing influence of short-term market interests, new forms of knowledge and expertise arising in civil society, cooperation springing up between academic research and non-market based civil society, etc.

* Its analyses are anchored in various types of actions: militant activity with the organisation of campaigns aimed at a wide audience of citizens (annual ‘Sciences en bobines’ cinema-debate festival, seminars, summer universities, etc.); knowledge-production activity in the framework of research projects in partnership with NGOs and academic researchers (training in climate manipulation and bio-manipulation, leadership of the Boutiques des Sciences network, etc.); proposal-production aimed at public authorities (proposals for bills on Citizens Conventions, protection for whistle-blowers, means of including citizens and NGOs in steering research, etc.).

* Conscious of the fact that civil society and the scientific community are still only dimly aware of how democracy may be impacted by science and technology, the association is working to set up national and international networks to spark reflection on these issues on the part of NGOs, unions, scientists and citizens. It has organised, for example, Living Knowledge conferences, as well as the World Forum on Science and Democracy (WFSD) and the European Network of Scientists for Social and Environmental Responsibility (ENSSER), which it continues to support. It also brings these issues to the forefront in networks that are less directly concerned (participation in the Climate 21 coalition and mobilisation around COP conferences, the Alter-EU network (support for regulations to guarantee transparent and ethical lobbying), Collective of Citizen Associations, etc.)

Objectives

The objective of the Citizen Science Foundation is to support and prolong the current move toward a civic and democratic reappropriation of science, to place it at the service of the common good.

The Citizen Science Foundation has, in particular, set itself the following objectives:

  • increase the capacity for research and expertise of civil society, associations, consumer groups, unions and citizens (constitution of a ‘third-party’ scientific sector that better meets increasing social and ecological needs that are often neglected by dominant scientific research, whether State-run or sponsored by the private industrial sector.)

  • stimulate freedom of expression and debate in the scientific world, support whistle-blowers and develop public controversies and ‘hybrid forums’ on challenges of a highly technical and scientific nature.

  • promote democratic decision-making when scientific and technical choices are made, and in particular public debate on policies related to research, technology and the organisation of expertise.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • training
  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign

Thematic areas

  • research and technological innovation

Sciences Citoyennes (ASC)

Carte d’identité

L’association Sciences Citoyennes est une association loi 1901 créée en 2002.

Sciences Citoyennes fait un double pari :

* Le premier est de réunir des chercheurs scientifiques critiques et des « profanes » engagés dans des luttes (sociales, médicales, environnementales, agricoles, climatiques) où ils rencontrent - voire contestent – la techno-science dominante et l’expertise officielle.

* Le second est d’unir, dans une réflexion et une action transversale de « politisation » de la science et de l’expertise, des acteurs impliqués dans des secteurs souvent compartimentés (agriculture, énergie, bio-médical, santé environnementale, NTIC, brevetage…).

L’action de l’association se décline selon les dimensions suivantes :

* Sciences Citoyennes développe des analyses sur les conditions du système de recherche et d’innovation français et européen, les conséquences de l’influence croissante des intérêts marchands de court terme, les nouvelles formes de savoirs et d’expertise qui se développent dans la société civile, les coopérations qui s’inventent entre recherche académique et société civile non marchande….

* Ses analyses sont ancrées dans différentes modalités d’actions: activité militante avec l’organisation de campagnes à destination d’un public citoyen large (festival annuel de ciné-débat « Sciences en bobines », colloques, Universités d’été…) ; activité de producteur de savoirs dans le cadre de projets de recherche en partenariat avec des ONGs et des chercheurs académiques (formation sur la manipulation du climat et les manipulations du vivant, animation du réseau Boutiques des Sciences…) ; activité propositionnelle en direction des pouvoirs publics (projets de loi sur les Conventions de Citoyens, sur la protection des lanceurs d’alerte, proposition de modalités pour associer les citoyens et les ONGs au pilotage de la recherche…).

* Consciente que les enjeux démocratiques entourant les questions techno-scientifiques restent encore faiblement perçus dans la société civile et la communauté scientifique, elle travaille à la constitution de réseaux nationaux et internationaux mettant en mouvement des ONGs, syndicats, chercheurs, citoyens autour de ces questions (organisation des conférences Living Knowledge, organisation puis soutien du Forum Mondial Sciences et Démocratie, Réseau Européen des chercheurs engagés (ENSSER)). Elle porte par ailleurs ces enjeux au sein de réseaux moins directement concernés (participation à la coalition Climat 21 et aux mobilisations autour des COP, réseau Alter-EU pour une réglementation de transparence et d’éthique en matière de lobbying, Collectif des Associations Citoyennes…).

Objectifs

Sciences Citoyennes a pour objectif de favoriser et prolonger le mouvement actuel de réappropriation citoyenne et démocratique de la science, afin de la mettre au service du bien commun.

Elle se donne notamment pour objectifs :

  • l’accroissement des capacités de recherche et d’expertise de la société civile, des forces associatives, consuméristes, syndicales et citoyennes (constitution d’un tiers secteur scientifique, répondant mieux à des besoins sociaux et écologiques croissants et négligés par les orientations scientifiques dominantes, qu’elles soient le fait de l’Etat ou de l’industrie privée.)

  • la stimulation de la liberté d’expression et de débat dans le monde scientifique, l’appui aux lanceurs d’alerte et le développement de controverses publiques et de « forums hybrides » sur les enjeux à forte technicité scientifique.

  • de promouvoir l’élaboration démocratique des choix scientifiques et techniques, et notamment la mise en débat public des politiques publiques en matière de recherche, de technologie et d’organisation de l’expertise.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne

Thèmes de travail

  • recherche et innovation technologique