European Network of Scientists for Social and Environmental Responsibility (ENSSER)

Identity card

ENSSER brings together independent scientific expertise to develop public-good knowledge for the critical assessment of existing and emerging technologies.

The network fosters an open and engaged scientific discourse through conferences, meetings and education; supports a transparent and interdisciplinary research; supports and protects early whistleblower scientists who are often harrassed and prosecuted for speaking out loud; increases the awareness of the public opinion through opinion papers, press releases and other channels; takes part in scientific and technological policy processes at European level. From the start, ENSSER has been actively involved in the Carthagen Protocol on prevention of biohazards and related to the Convention on biological diversity.

The network brings together a hundred of scientists and three organizations. ENSSER is very active in terms of participation to scientific conferences, scientific publications, seminars, etc, on issues such as GMOs (I;E; teosint and GMO corn), biotechnologies, pesticides (neonicotinoïds, largely present in agriculture and highly toxic for multiple species), biodiversity, whistleblowers. The network recently explored the questions of energy. Scientists from vairous European countries are members of the Board of ENSSER.

Four major lines of action:

ENSSER advocates benign and peaceful use of scientific discoveries and technological developments, while expanding diverse approaches to assess their utility and safety in society.

ENSSER considers that critical, independent and transparent analyses of technology options can best promote sustainable and humane technology development that addresses both current and future social and environmental problems.

ENSSER promotes the critical European and international discourse on new technologies, their impacts and their regulation. As scientific and technological advances, are increasingly driven by private interest, health and environmental safety information needs often lag behind. As a result, the relationship between science, society and environment in science policy should be restructured to better protect the public interest.

ENSSER promotes critical thinking to help reshape current models towards more democratic and participatory agenda-setting processes. This requires creating spaces for scientific information independent from economic and political influence, and includes the identification, use, and quality assessment of scientific, lay, local, traditional and other knowledge sources.

Objectives

ENSSER has three key objectives:

1) supporting and protecting independent and critical scientific research for the protection of the environment, biological diversity and human health against negative impacts of new technologies and their products;

2) promoting a democratic approach of the choice of scientific and technical options for practical implementation; and

3) developing responsible approaches to the assessment of risks and benefits of existing and emerging technologies.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • expertise
  • research, analysis
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Target audience

  • researchers, scientists
  • general public
  • public authorities, elected representatives, administrations

Thematic areas

  • research and technological innovation

European Network of Scientists for Social and Environmental Responsibility (ENSSER)

Carte d’identité

ENSSER réunit des chercheurs engagés et indépendants au niveau européen dont le but est de faire progresser la recherche scientifique publique dans les domaines de la protection de l’environnement, de la diversité biologique et de la santé et contre les impacts négatifs des nouvelles technologies et des produits qui en sont issus.

Le réseau facilite un discours scientifique ouvert et engagé au travers de conférences, rencontres et des activités éducatives, encourage la recherche trans- et interdisciplinaire, encourage et protège des chercheurs qui articulent des alertes (précoces) et qui sont harcelés et poursuivis pour avoir tenté d’en parler, accroît l’information du grand public à travers des tribunes, communiqués de presse et autres moyens, intervient dans des processus des politiques scientifiques et technologiques au niveau européen. Dès ses débuts ENSSER est très activement impliqué dans le processus du Protocole de Carthagène sur la prévention des risques biotechnologiques relatif à la Convention sur la diversité biologique.

Le réseau réunit aujourd’hui une petite centaine de chercheurs et trois organisations. ENSSER est très actif en terme de participation à des conférences scientifiques, de rédaction d’articles scientifiques, de séminaires etc. sur des thèmes comme les OGM (ex. téosinte et maïs OGM), les biotechnologies, les pesticides (notamment les néonicotinoides, très répandu en agriculture et nocifs pour de nombre d’auxiliaires), la biodiversité, les lanceurs d’alerte. Le réseau commence à travailler sur des questions énergétiques. Il est doté d’un bureau avec des chercheurs venant de différents pays européens.

 

Ses actions se déclinent selon quatre grandes lignes :

* Plaidoyer pour une utilisation de la science et de la technologie dans l’intérêt public par un usage modéré et pacifique des découvertes scientifiques et des développements technologiques, accompagné de processus variés d’évaluation de leur utilité et de l’absence de danger pour la société.

* Plaidoyer en faveur d’une analyse critique, indépendante et transparente des différentes options technologiques est mieux à même de promouvoir un développement technologique durable et respectueux de l’être humain et pourra apporter des réponses aux problèmes sociaux et environnementaux actuels et à venir.

* Promotion aux niveaux européen et international d’un discours critique sur les nouvelles technologies, leurs effets et leur régulation. Du fait de la place croissante occupée par les intérêts privés dans les avancées scientifiques et technologiques, la communication d’informations sur la sécurité sanitaire et environnementale est souvent reléguée au second plan. C’est pourquoi il est urgent de réviser les politiques scientifiques pour protéger l’intérêt public dans les relations entre science, société et environnement.

* Promotion d’une réflexion critique pour aider à réviser les modèles actuels et les orienter vers des processus de définition d’agendas plus démocratiques et plus participatifs. Cette démarche suppose la création d’espaces d’information scientifique indépendants des pouvoirs économiques et politiques et permettant l’identification, l’usage et l’évaluation de tout type de sources scientifiques.

Objectifs

ENSSER poursuit trois objectifs principaux :

1) Soutenir et protéger une recherche scientifique critique et indépendante afin de préserver l’environnement, la biodiversité et la santé humaine contre les impacts négatifs de nouvelles technologies et des produits qui en découlent.

2) Promouvoir une approche démocratique concernant des choix scientifiques et techniques et leur mise en pratique

3) Développer des approches responsables quant à l’évaluation des risques et des bénéfices de technologies existantes et émergentes

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • production d’expertise
  • recherche, analyse
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Publics cibles

  • chercheurs, scientifiques
  • grand public
  • autorités publiques, élus, administrations

Thèmes de travail

  • recherche et innovation technologique