Sciences Critiques (SC)

Identity card

The association known as ‘Sciences Critiques’ was created in 2013.

Its purpose is to invite citizens to (re)discover the sciences in a new way and grasp the very political issues they raise. Critical thinking needs to be cultivated and sharpened, along with the capacity to question what seems self-evident, to reflect and think ‘outside the box’. The association asks a fundamental question: what role does science and ‘what comes out of the laboratory’ play in our social and personal lives?

The association manages and edits the Sciences Critiques website (www.sciencescritiques.fr), which provides information and an opportunity to participate in critical reflection. It also organises public debates and works with researchers and other associations critical to the sciences.

The overall goal is to provide keys for understanding ‘the world of science’ and guidelines for understanding how this ‘world’ interacts with the rest of society.

The Sciences Critiques team encourages crossbreeding between slow journalism (to rekindle public trust in the profession) and the critical analyses of science, to determine the latter’s role and missions in our societies (a sort of ‘Médiapart’ dedicated to the sciences).

Objectives

The association’s objective is to:

– bring thinkers, journalists and citizens together around a website with editorial content devoted entirely to decoding contemporary scientific controversies and, more generally, to understanding ‘the world of science’.

– be a ‘meta-media’ whose goal is not to compete with other media but to offer people who are passionate about science--or are simply curious--keys and guidelines to understanding through the production of original content and reference information (open forums, surveys, dossiers, in-depth interviews, etc.).

– support citizen awareness and critical thinking with regard to sciences and techniques and the controversies they generate.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • mobilization, rally
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign

Thematic areas

  • research and technological innovation

Sciences Critiques (SC)

Carte d’identité

L’association Sciences critiques a été créée en 2013.

Sa raison d’être est d’inviter les citoyens à (re)découvrir autrement les sciences et à s’emparer des enjeux éminemment politiques qu’elles soulèvent. Il s’agit de cultiver et aiguiser le sens critique, d’interroger et questionner les évidences, et de réfléchir et penser contre « l’ordre des choses ». L’associaiton pose la question fondamentale de la place et du rôle des sciences et des « productions de laboratoire » dans notre vie sociale comme dans notre vie personnelle.

L’association gère et édite le site internet d’information et de réflexion critique participatif sur les sciences éponyme, Sciences Critiques, dont l’adresse est www.sciencescritiques.fr. Elle organise des débats publics et travaillent avec des chercheurs et d’autres associations critiques des sciences.

En tout il s’agit de proposer des clés pour comprendre le « monde des sciences » et des repères pour savoir comment ce « monde » interagit avec le reste de la société.

L’équipe de Sciences critiques œuvre au croisement entre journalisme lent ("slow journalism") pour renouer avec les lettres de noblesse de la profession et analyse critique des sciences pour interroger leur place et missions dans nos sociétés (une sorte de « médiapart des sciences »).

Objectifs

Sciences Critiques a pour objectif de :

  • associer penseurs, journalistes et citoyens autour d’un site web dont les contenus éditoriaux seraient entièrement consacrés au décryptage des controverses scientifiques contemporaines et, plus généralement, à la compréhension du « monde des sciences ».

  • être un méta-média, désireux, non pas de participer à la compétition médiatique, mais d’offrir, aux passionné-e-s des sciences comme aux curieux-ses, des clés et des repères au travers de contenus originaux et de référence (tribunes libres, enquêtes, dossiers, grands entretiens, etc.).

  • soutenir une prise de conscience citoyenne et une pensée critique envers les sciences et techniques et les controverses qu’elles suscitent; aider aux citoyens de s’emparer des enjeux éminemment politiques qu’elles soulèvent.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne

Thèmes de travail

  • recherche et innovation technologique