Collectif Paysages de l’après pétrole (PAP)

Identity card

The PAP collective (Paysages de l’après-pétrole, or Post-petroleum landscapes), which became an association in May 2015, brings together some 50 French and Belgian experts in planning and development. From the naturalist to the engineer, from the landscape artist to the urban planner, sociologist, philosopher and elected official, the collective covers all the skills that are called for when inventing sustainable territories. This think tank develops reflections, methods and tools on the basis of concrete projects, and advocates for change in local and national policies.

Ultimately, landscape approaches bring territories together and facilitate their involvement in transitions that must be made to address the energy-, ecology- and economy-related challenges of our time, as they manifest themselves in the natural and human context of each territory. PAP feels that landscape approaches provide responses to territories’ needs: - they use indepth knowledge of local natural and human resources as a foundation for imagining development solutions that are more efficient because better suited to each situation; - they make policies more meaningful by including them in a territorial project that encourages multiple uses of soils and sites; - they attempt to mobilise and involve the populations living in these territories, both to benefit from their knowledge and to relay their call for more well-being; - they believe heartily that all citizens have the same rights to good living conditions, promote the idea of “a right to a quality landscape” and dare to talk about beauty and harmony.

Members of the Paysages de l’après-pétrole collective fully identify with the principles of the European Landscape Convention. Essentially French-speaking when it was founded, the PAP collective connects to European networks through case studies of European landscape solutions.

The PAP Collective intends to renew its landscape action—often conservative in stance—and put it to work for sustainable development.

Objectives

PAP’s objective is to give back to landscape its central role in territorial development policies, in a context of energy transition, and more widely, a transition to sustainable development.

This involves:

  • contributing to the success of the transition with landscape approaches that welcome citizens’ active participation and contribute to territorial projects focused on reinventing the art of living well together.

  • renew landscape thought and action, too often considered defensive or conservative, to put them at the service of the now indispensable economic, environmental and social progress.

  • make it clear that landscape approaches provide answers to a number of emergencies and necessities currently weighing on populations:

  • they are based on indepth knowledge of the specific natural and human characteristics of territories, so development solutions suited to each context can be imagined;

  • they guarantee coherence between technical measures in various sectorial policies—particularly environmental policies; without this coherence, an accumulation of technical measures may cause people to feel anxious or overwhelmed, even when the individual measures are clearly useful;

  • they give these policies an overall meaning in a territorial project;

  • they target the well-being of populations living in territories where the project is implemented, by providing both harmony in a daily living space, and the feeling of everyone participating in its future;

  • they take to heart the ideal of ‘equality of living conditions’ between citizens: given the obvious fact that degraded or incoherent landscapes are often home to underprivileged populations, the idea of a ‘right to the landscape’ must be promoted.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • books, reviews publishing

Thematic areas

  • local territory management
  • Climate energy
  • citizenship
  • information

Collectif Paysages de l’après pétrole (PAP)

Carte d’identité

Constitué en association en mai 2015, le collectif Paysages de l’après-pétrole (PAP) rassemble une cinquantaine de spécialistes de l’aménagement de nationalité française et belge. Du naturaliste à l’ingénieur, du paysagiste à l’urbaniste, du sociologue au philosophe et à l’élu, le collectif PAP couvre l’ensemble des compétences qu’appelle l’invention des territoires durables. Ce think tank élabore des réflexions, des méthodes et des outils en s’appuyant sur des réalisations concrètes, et porte un plaidoyer visant à faire évoluer les politiques locales et nationales.

En définitive les démarches paysagères sont fédératrices et facilitatrices pour engager les territoires dans les transitions à mener pour résoudre les enjeux énergétique, écologique et économique de notre époque, adaptés au contexte naturel et humain de chaque territoire. PAP considère que les démarches paysagères apportent des réponses aux exigences des territoires : - elles s’appuient sur une connaissance fine des ressources naturelles et humaines locales pour imaginer des solutions d’aménagement plus efficaces car mieux adaptées à chaque contexte ; - elles donnent un sens global à ces politiques dans un projet de territoire favorisant un multiusage des sols et une multifonctionnalité des lieux ;- elles visent à mobiliser et impliquer les populations qui vivent sur ces territoires de projet pour bénéficier de leurs savoirs et se faire l’écho de leurs demandes de bien-être ; - elles prennent à coeur l’égalité entre les citoyens en termes de cadre de vie et promeuvent l’idée de « droit à un paysage  de qualité », et osent parler de beauté et d’harmonie.

Les membres du collectif Paysages de l’après-pétrole se reconnaissent pleinement dans les principes de la Convention Européenne du Paysage. Essentiellement francophone pour son démarrage, le collectif PAP s’articule avec des réseaux européens au travers du projet d’étude de cas de solutions paysagères européennes.

Le Collectif PAP entend renouveler l’action paysagère, souvent en posture conservatrice, pour la mettre au service du développement durable.

Objectifs

Le PAP a pour objectif de redonner durablement à la question du paysage un rôle central dans les politiques d’aménagement du territoire, dans un contexte de transition énergétique et plus largement de transition vers un développement durable.

Il s’agit de

  • contribuer à la réussite de cette transition à partir d’approches paysagères ouvertes à la participation active des citoyens, et contribuant à des projets de territoire réinventant un art du bien vivre ensemble.

  • renouveler la pensée et l’action paysagères, trop souvent en posture défensive, voire conservatrice, pour les mettre au service des progrès économiques, environnementaux et sociaux que la période actuelle rend indispensables.

  • rendre visible que les démarches paysagères apportent des réponses à plusieurs urgences et nécessités ressenties actuellement par les populations :

    • elles s’appuient sur une connaissance fine des singularités naturelles et humaines des territoires pour imaginer des solutions d’aménagement adaptées à chaque contexte ;

    • elles assurent une cohérence entre les mesures techniques des diverses politiques sectorielles - notamment environnementales - dont l’accumulation, même quand elle répond à d’évidentes fonctions, a engendré inquiétudes voire saturation ;

    • elles donnent un sens global à ces politiques dans un projet de territoire ;

    • elles visent le bien-être des populations qui vivent sur ces territoires de projet, au sens à la fois de l’harmonie d’un espace au quotidien, et de la participation de tous à son devenir ;

    • elles prennent à cœur l’égalité entre les citoyens en termes de cadre de vie : face à l’évident constat que le paysage dégradé ou incohérent est trop souvent celui des populations défavorisées, il faut promouvoir l’idée de « droit au paysage ».

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues

Thèmes de travail

  • gestion des territoires
  • climat énergie
  • citoyenneté
  • information