Association Française Arbres Champêtres et Agroforesteries (Afac-Agroforesteries)

Identity card

The Association Française Arbres Champêtres et Agroforesteries (Afac-Agroforesteries) is the French association for wild trees and agroforestry. A non-profit association created in 2007, it has 221 members (including 186 structures) that work to support the preservation, planting and management of hedges, wild trees and all types of agroforest systems. In ten years, Afac-Agroforesteries has set up a strong and diverse professional network of agroforestry consulting structures with both agricultural and environmental leadership capacities. Thirty years of experience in the field have made Afac-Agroforesteries the natural, nation-wide voice of professionals in hedges, trees and agroforestry.

The strategic priorities of Afac-Agroforesteries are defined each year by its board of directors (21 members divided into three colleges) and by a seven-person bureau. In 2018, reflection was begun on a new ten-year associative project to reaffirm association guidelines and make it easier to enter into partnership agreements with institutions such as: AFB (French agency for biodiversity), FNAB (French national federation of organic farming), Federation of regional national parks of France, Association of French regions.

Afac-Agroforesteries helped draft the Agroforestry development plan (put forward by Stéphane Le Foll in December 2015 when he was the minister for agriculture) and is a partner, pilot or co-pilot for half of the plan’s actions. Afac-Agroforesteries is also involved in the European Agroforestry Federation: the two French representatives on the board of directors of the European Agroforesteries Federation (EURAF) come from Afac-Agroforesteries. This participation in EURAF efforts will guarantee that agroforestry is properly taken into account in future CAP 2020 programming.

Fully consistent with the Afterres 2050 and Négawatt transition scenarios, Afac-Agroforesteries promotes a multifunctional and sustainable approach to trees to facilitate the ecological and energy transition of rural territories.

Objectives

The highest priority objectives of Afac-Agroforesteries are to:

  • Support tree-planting in non-forested areas and their assisted natural regeneration,

  • Promote sectors that sustainably manage and use trees in non-forest areas,

  • Work to integrate trees in all agricultural production systems, and get farmers to see trees as an important element in the sustainability of their farms,

  • Innovate and progress collectively in agroforestry techniques.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • training
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information
  • books, reviews publishing

Thematic areas

  • local territory management
  • tools & methods
  • Climate energy
  • environment

Association Française Arbres Champêtres et Agroforesteries (Afac-Agroforesteries)

Carte d’identité

L’Association Française Arbres Champêtres et Agroforesteries (Afac-Agroforesteries) est une association loi 1901 créée en 2007 qui fédère 221 adhérents - dont 186 structures1 - œuvrant en faveur de la préservation, de la plantation et de la gestion des haies, des arbres champêtres et des systèmes agroforestiers sous toutes leurs formes. En dix ans, l’Afac-Agroforesteries a constitué un réseau professionnel solide et diversifié de structures de conseil en agroforesterie disposant de compétences d’animation à la fois agricole et environnementale. S’appuyant sur leur expérience significative de terrain, capitalisée depuis 30 ans, l’Afac-Agroforesteries est devenu un porte-parole national incontournable des professionnels de la haie, de l’arbre champêtre et de l’agroforesterie.

Les priorités stratégiques de l’Afac-Agroforesteries sont définies annuellement par son conseil d’administration (composé de 21 membres répartis en trois collèges) et par un bureau de sept personnes. En 2018, une réflexion a été engagée pour formaliser un nouveau projet associatif à dix ans pour réaffirmer les orientations de l’association et faciliter l’engagement de conventions de partenariat avec des institutions telles que : Agence français pour la biodiversité, Fédération nationale de l’agriculture biologique, Fédération des Parcs naturels régionaux de France, Association des régions de France.

L’Afac-Agroforesteries a participé à la rédaction du Plan de développement de l’Agroforesterie (impulsé par Stéphane Le Foll en décembre 2015 lorsqu’il était ministre de l’agriculture) et participe en tant que partenaire, pilote ou copilote à la moitié des actions du plan. L’Afac-Agroforesteries est également impliquée au sein de la Fédération Européenne d’Agroforesterie (EURAF) : les deux représentants de la France au conseil d’administration de l’EURAF sont issus des rangs de l’Afac-Agroforesteries. Cette participation aux travaux de l’EURAF sera déterminant pour la bonne prise en compte de l’agroforesterie dans la future programmation de la PAC 2020.

En pleine cohérence avec les scénarios de transition Afterres 2050 et Négawatt, l’Afac-Agroforesteries promeut une approche multifonctionnelle et durable de l’arbre champêtre pour faciliter la transition écologique et énergétique des territoires ruraux.

Objectifs

L’Afac-Agroforesteries se donne pour objectifs prioritaires de :

  • Soutenir les plantations d’arbres hors-forêt et leur régénération naturelle assistée,

  • Promouvoir des filières de gestion et de valorisation durable de l’arbre hors forêt,

  • Agir pour l’intégration de l’arbre dans tous les systèmes de production agricole, faire changer le regard des agriculteurs pour en faire une composante à part entière de la durabilité de leurs fermes,

  • Innover et progresser collectivement dans les techniques agroforestières.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues

Thèmes de travail

  • gestion des territoires
  • outils et méthodes
  • climat énergie
  • environnement