Global Chance (GC)

Identity card

Global Chance is an association of scientists and experts who believe that more balanced world development can and should result from an increasing awareness of threats weighing on the global environment. The association was created in 1992 by Martine Barrère (scientific journalist), Benjamin Dessus (engineer and economist), Bernard Laponche (engineer), François Pharabod (engineer), Philippe Roqueplo (sociologist) and Arthur Riedacker (environmentalist and political scientist) in the context of preparation for the Rio conference. The founders were soon joined by celebrities from the economic and scientific realms who were concerned about energy and environmental issues.

In the years following its creation, the association devoted most of its activity to energy and the fight against the greenhouse effect: energy sobriety and efficiency, renewable energies, nuclear energy and the greenhouse effect, globally as well as on the level of developing countries and Europe. Its commitment to providing independent expertise led to members’ participation in numerous national and international debates. Work done by its members was published regularly. From 1992 to 2016, the association published 42 issues of its review, Les Cahiers de Global Chance.

Objectives

From the outset, Global Chance set itself one main goal:

  • take advantage of awareness of the various threats weighing on the world environment as the result of human activity (climate change caused by the greenhouse effect, loss of plant and animal biodiversity, soil degradation, desertification and diminishing water resources, pollution of oceans, destruction of the ozone layer, risk of nuclear proliferation and the accumulation of very long-lived radioactive waste, etc.) to increase the chances of balanced world development.

Global Chance works to:

  • bring diverse and sometimes contradictory expertise to the public’s attention.

  • incite people to take democratic ownership of the collective challenges associated with energy, the environment and development.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • training
  • books, reviews publishing
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • research, analysis

Thematic areas

  • environment
  • Climate energy
  • information
  • democracy

Global Chance (GC)

Carte d’identité

Global Chance est une association de scientifiques et d’experts partageant la conviction qu’un développement mondial plus équilibré peut et doit résulter de la prise de conscience croissante des menaces qui pèsent sur l’environnement global. L’association a été fondée en 1992 par Martine Barrère (journaliste scientifique), Benjamin Dessus (ingénieur et économiste), Bernard Laponche (ingénieur), François Pharabod (ingénieur), Philippe Roqueplo (sociologue) et Arthur Riedacker (environnementaliste et politologue) dans le contexte de la préparation de la conférence de Rio. Les fondateurs ont été très vite rejoints par des personnalités du monde économique et scientifique concernés par les questions d’énergie et d’environnement.

Au cours des années qui ont suivi sa création, l’association a exercé l’essentiel de son activité dans les domaines de l’énergie et de la lutte contre l’effet de serre : sobriété et efficacité énergétique, énergies renouvelables, énergie nucléaire, effet de serre, aussi bien au niveau mondial qu’au niveau des pays en développement ou de l’Europe. Sa volonté d’apporter une expertise indépendante s’est traduite par la participation de ses membres à de très nombreux débats nationaux ou internationaux. Le travail réalisé par ses membres a fait l’objet de publications régulières. De 1992 à 2016, l’association a publié 42 numéros de sa revue Les Cahiers de Global Chance.

Objectifs

Global Chance se fixait dès l’origine pour but principal de :

  • tirer parti de la prise de conscience des diverses menaces qui pèsent sur l’environnement global du fait de l’activité humaine (changements climatiques dus à l’effet de serre, appauvrissement de la biodiversité végétale et animale, dégradation des sols, désertification et raréfaction des ressources en eau, pollution des océans, destruction de la couche d’ozone,risque de prolifération nucléaire et accumulation de déchets radioactifs à très longue durée de vie,etc) pour promouvoir les chances d’un développement mondial équilibré.

Global Chance œuvre pour :

  • une mise sur la place publique d’une expertise multiple et contradictoire.

  • une appropriation démocratique des enjeux collectifs liés à l’énergie, à l’environnement et au développement.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • recherche, analyse

Thèmes de travail

  • environnement
  • climat énergie
  • information
  • démocratie