Réseau intercontinental de promotion de l’économie sociale solidaire (Ripess-I)

Identity card

RIPESS is a global network of continental networks committed to the promotion of Social Solidarity Economy. The member networks themselves (Latin America and the Caribbean, North America, Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania) bring together national and sectorial networks, thus ensuring strong territorial anchoring. The network combines global and local scope.

RIPESS members believe in the importance of the globalisation of solidarity, and the ability to build and strengthen an economy that places people and planet at the centre of its activities.

Since 2013 an important international dynamics has raised around SSE, and RIPESS is fully part of it. Advocacy and ackowledgement of the importance of SSE have gained visibility, partially because of the creation of the UN inter-institutions working group on SSE. RIPESS International is one of the SSE organizations’ official observer in close cooperation with 18 UN institutions. In addition, as part of its activities to promote SSE towards international institutions, RIPESS has been accredited by UNCTAD since September 2014 and has a consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) since July 2016.

The network has implemented four working groups that allow for exchange of ideas and documents and on-going actions on specific themes: awareness raising and training, women and SSE, visibility and institutional recognition, inter-cooperation and networking, mapping and communication.

Objectives

RIPESS-I aims to:

  • build and promote solidarity economy enhancing the social aspect in every aspect of economic activity;

  • encourage exchange and dialogue between SSE stakeholders at national, continental and inter-continental levels;

  • push forward SSE as a holistic alternative to the present economic system, in the context of today’s social, envrionment, economic and civilisation crises innovative economic initiatives for the autonomous development of our societies,

  • promote SSE, encourgae inter-continental cooperations, advocate at various levels.

RIPESS-I is committed to contribute to a systemic and transformative change, arguing in particular that SSE provides valuable responses at local level while the existing dominant system clearly shows serious limitations.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • training
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • networking of actors

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • tools & methods
  • citizenship
  • research and social innovation
  • governance

Réseau intercontinental de promotion de l’économie sociale solidaire (Ripess-I)

Carte d’identité

Le RIPESS est un réseau mondial de réseaux continentaux engagés dans la promotion de l’économie sociale et solidaire. Fondé formellement en 2002, les réseaux continentaux du RIPESS (Amérique latine et Caraïbes, Amérique du Nord, Europe, Afrique, Asie et Océanie) rassemblent à leur tour des réseaux nationaux et des réseaux sectoriels, assurant ainsi un fort ancrage territorial. En 2016, le RIPESS a également admis des organisations internationales (organisations actives dans au moins trois continents). Sa portée est donc à la fois globale et locale.

Ses membres croient à l’importance d’une mondialisation de la solidarité afin de construire et de renforcer une économie qui met les gens et la planète au centre de son activité.

Depuis 2013, une importante dynamique internationale s’est développée, dont le RIPESS est acteur à part entière. Les actions de plaidoyer et de reconnaissance ont largement progressé, notamment par la création du Groupe de travail inter-institutions de l’ONU sur l’ESS. Le RIPESS y siège en tant qu’observateur officiel (avec d’autres organisations de l’ESS) et ce en étroite collaboration avec ce groupe constitué de 18 institutions onusiennes. De plus, le RIPESS a obtenu une accréditation de la CNUCED en 2015 et d’ECOSOC en 2016.

Le réseau a mis en place des groupes de travail qui offrent des espaces d’échanges et d’action en continu sur des thématiques spécifiques : Sensibilisation et formation, Femmes et ESS, Visibilité et reconnaissance institutionnelle, Inter coopération et réseautage, cartographies et communication.

Objectifs

La mission du Ripess-I est de :

  • construire et promouvoir l’économie sociale et solidaire en incorporant la dimension sociale dans tous les aspects de l’activité économique,

  • encourage les échanges entre les acteurs de l’ESS sur une base nationale, continentale et intercontinentale

  • travailler à mettre de l’avant l’ESS comme une alternative holistique au système économique actuel, à la lumière des crises sociale, environnementale, économique et civilisationnelle ayant cours,

  • promouvoir l’ESS, favoriser des coopérations intercontinentales, et réaliser un plaidoyer à différents niveaux.

Le RIPESS est animé par la volonté de contribuer à un changement systémique et transformateur, en démontrant notamment combien l’ESS apporte des réponses au niveau local face au système prédominant qui montre clairement ses limites.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • formation
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • outils et méthodes
  • citoyenneté
  • recherche et innovation sociale
  • gouvernance