Institut Veblen

Identity card

The Veblen Institute was created at the end of 2010 because the amplitude of environmental, financial, economic and social crises has made one thing clear: our societies are ‘wrong-headed’ and have organised the economy poorly. It is urgent that we work toward a sustainable society in which respect for the physical limits of the planet goes hand in hand with a social organisation that is more solidarity-based and an economy that is more democratic than the ones we have today. The Institute’s mission is thus to “help reform economic thought by promoting the principles of a social and ecological economy that can meet the challenges of sustainable development”.

The association acts as a ‘think tank’ for the ecological transition and works closely with many different civil society actors on different levels: networks of experts from universities and institutions, NGO networks, the political realm, unions, public administration, social movements and citizen groups, media and actors in the field. Its focus is on France, but the Institute also works very closely with European and international networks.

The Veblen Institute strives to establish bridges between three areas: academic reflection on the economy, definition of public policies and industry-specific technical expertise. These are, of course, abstract philosophical bridges, but they are also bridges between the various people who work in these three areas.

One of the Institute’s key skills is that it manages to work with various actors yet supplants none, and that it brings forth a coherent vision to replace the sectorial approaches and isolated expertise that still dominate debate.

Objectives

The Institute focuses on economic challenges, which it defines in three ways:

  • Economic thought itself must be renewed, because dominant economic theory is particularly ill-suited to meet challenges and is a real intellectual obstacle on the path to a sustainable society.

  • The ecological transition needs public policies that do not reduce it to a simple ‘greening’ of the current system. Many questions must be asked: What jobs policy will allow us to move toward a post-growth society, and with what purchasing power? What monetary and financial system could contribute to this change? What new balance will be found between the market, the State and other actors involved in the production of goods and services? What are the new ways of consuming, producing, working and living together? What role will citizen participation play?

  • The task of coming up with proposals cannot be accomplished without technical knowledge from the sectors involved: transportation, energy, agriculture, housing, production systems, etc. The association feels it is important to involve experts in efforts to produce proposals for reform.

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • books, reviews publishing
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • democracy
  • law and justice
  • governance

Institut Veblen

Carte d’identité

L’Institut Veblen a été créé fin 2010, partant du constat que les crises environnementale, financière, économique et sociale, par leur ampleur, ne laissent guère de doute : nos sociétés « pensent de travers » et organisent mal l’économie. Il y a urgence à œuvrer pour une société soutenable dans laquelle le respect des limites physiques de la planète va de pair avec une organisation sociale plus solidaire et une économie plus démocratique qu’aujourd’hui. La mission de l’Institut est ainsi de « participer à la réforme de la pensée économique en assurant la promotion des principes d’une économie sociale et écologique adaptée aux enjeux du développement durable ».

L’association agit comme un « think-tank » dédié à la transition écologique et collabore étroitement avec une variété d’acteurs de la société civile, à différentes échelles : réseaux internationaux d’experts (universitaires, institutionnels), et d’ONG, milieux politiques, syndicats, administration publique, mouvements sociaux et collectifs citoyens, médias et acteurs de terrain. Il agit en France mais travaille très étroitement avec des réseaux européens et internationaux.

Le pari de l’Institut Veblen est d’essayer d’établir des ponts entre ces trois champs que sont la réflexion académique sur l’économie, la définition des politiques publiques et l’expertise technique sectorielle. Des ponts sur le plan de la réflexion, des ponts également entre les différents acteurs qui travaillent à ces différents niveaux.

Une compétence clef de l’Institut est de parvenir à travailler avec différents acteurs sans vouloir se substituer à aucun, et de faire émerger une vision cohérente à la place des approches sectorielles et des expertises cloisonnées qui dominent encore le débat.

Objectifs

L’Institut se focalise sur les enjeux économiques, en définissant ces enjeux de trois façons :

  • Il est nécessaire de renouveler la pensée économique elle-même, la théorie économique dominante étant particulièrement mal adaptée pour répondre aux défis et constituant un véritable obstacle intellectuel sur le chemin de la société durable.

  • La transition écologique a besoin de politiques publiques qui ne la réduisent pas à un simple « verdissement » du système actuel. De nombreuses questions se posent comme notamment Quelle politique de l’emploi permettra d’aller vers une société post-croissance, et avec quel pouvoir d’achat ? Quel système monétaire et financier pourra y contribuer ? Quel sera le nouvel équilibre entre le marché, l’Etat et d’autres acteurs dans la production des biens et services ? Quelles sont les nouvelles façons de consommer, de produire, de travailler, de vivre ensemble ? Quel sera le rôle de la participation citoyenne ?

  • Ce travail de proposition ne saurait faire économie des savoirs techniques venant des secteurs concernés : transports, énergie, agriculture, habitat, systèmes de production, etc. Pour l’association il s’agit de savoir impliquer les spécialistes dans un travail tourné vers les propositions de réforme.

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • démocratie
  • droit
  • gouvernance