Förderverein Wachstumswende

Identity card

Following the 2010 annual meeting of the Circle of German environmental economists, several members decided to create a social network on the internet (wachstumswende.de) to facilitate cooperation between people interested in degrowth. The site quickly became a success, and in May 2012 an association known as Förderverein Wachstumswende was created in Freiburg to officially run the network.

Since then Förderverein Wachstumswende has become one of Germany’s foremost actors in degrowth. Leading the network, which now includes several organisations and projects, has remained one of the association’s main activities, as it provides a venue for information and discussion.

Förderverein Wachstumswende is also a platform that develops, promotes, leads and manages projects to help humanity get past the growth paradigm and strive for more social and environmental justice. These projects are directly supported by Förderverein in cooperation with other partners: the sole criteria for such projects is the implementation of degrowth principles.

Degrowth Conferences organising committee:

The degrowth movement began in the early 2000’s in France. A bridge between various philosophies and dynamics in both the north and the south, it emerged in 2002 in the wake of UNESCO’s “undoing development, remaking the world” seminar and through meetings with groups of activists in Lyon. Since then it has become international in scope and, in its role as ‘idea catalyst’, continues to stimulate debate and convergence on the physical, cultural and symbolic limits of growth. It also strives to be a meeting place, and a showcase, for solutions based on different approaches and operating at different levels.

The international dynamic around degrowth really emerged in 2008 at the first international conference, which was held in Paris. The degrowth slogan was translated into English and was soon being discussed in universities around the world. Since then, five other diverse yet complementary conferences have been held (Barcelona 2010, Montreal 2012, Venice 2012, Leipzig 2014, Budapest 2016). (The most recent edition was organized regionally, with particularly strong participation from partners in Slovenia (Focus) and Croatia (Institute for Political Ecology), as well as good connections with Bulgaria and Romania.)

Over the years, organisers of international conferences have joined together in an Organisation Committee. Members of this group organised conferences held in: Paris (Francois Schneider), Barcelona (Filka Sekulova, Federico Demaria), Montreal (Bob Thomson), Venice (Chiara Marchetti, Silvio Cristiano, Jean-Louis Alliot), Leipzig (Nina Treu, Corinna Burkhart, Barbara Muraca, Gualter Baptista), Budapest (Lidija Zivcic, Mladen Domazet, Vincent Liegey), Malmö (Ekaterina Chertkovskaya), Mexico City (Miguel Valencia) and Brussels (Olivier Derruine).

Objectives

The movement’s objective is to:

  • break with discourse on growth and consumerism,

  • reactivate reflection on alternative projects for post-development,

  • encourage reflection on the values of autonomy, democracy, justice, solidarity, liberty and equality,

  • develop a theoretical and interpretive framework for ecological transition movements.

The goal is to work through democratic processes to bring about socially sustainable and fair reductions in the physical size of the overall economic system, until it shrinks to a level considered environmentally sustainable. Such a change would probably require, particularly in the richest countries, profound changes in the institutions of capitalist societies, lifestyles and the popular imagination as well.

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • networking of actors
  • books, reviews publishing
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • research, analysis

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • governance

Förderverein Wachstumswende

Carte d’identité

Après la rencontre annuelle du cercle des économistes écologiques allemands en 2010, plusieurs membres ont créé un réseau social sur Internet (wachstumswende.de) afin de faciliter les coopérations entre personnes intéressées par la Décroissance. Face à un succès rapide, en mai 2012 Förderverein Wachstumswende fut fondée à Freiburg pour agir en tant qu’animateur officiel du réseau.

Depuis, Förderverein Wachstumswende s’est imposé en Allemagne comme l’un des acteurs centraux autour de la Décroissance. L’animation du réseau regroupant plusiers organisations et projets reste centrale dans les activités de Förderverein en offrant un espace d’information et de discussion.

Förderverein est aussi une plateforme qui développe, promeut, mène et administre des projets contribuant à dépasser le paradigme de la croissance pour plus de justice sociale et environnementale. Ces projets sont directement porté par Förderverein en coopération avec pour seul critère de respecter les principes de la Décroissance.

Comité d’organisation des Conférences Décroissance :

Le mouvement de la Décroissance est né au début des années 2000 en France. Il fait le lien entre diverses pensées et dynamiques aussi bien au nord qu’au sud. C’est en 2002 autour du colloque de l’Unesco « défaire le développement, refaire le monde » et à travers sa rencontre avec des groupes d’activistes lyonnais qu’il émerge. Il s’est depuis internationalisé et continue, dans son rôle d’agitateurs d’idées, à créer débats et convergences autour des limites physiques, culturelles et symboliques de la croissance. Il se veut aussi être un lieu de rencontre, de mise en avant de solutions suivant différentes approches et sur différents niveaux.

La dynamique internationale autour de la Décroissance a vraiment vu le jour en 2008 lors de la première conférence internationale qui s’est tenue à Paris. Le slogan Décroissance est traduit en anglais et commence à investir les débats universitaires internationaux. Depuis, cinq autres conférences, toutes aussi diverses que complémentaires, ont eu lieu (Barcelona 2010, Montreal 2012, Venice 2012, Leipzig 2014, Budapest 2016). (La dernière édition s’est organisé dans un cadre régional, en particulier avec une forte participation de partenaires slovènes (Focus) et croates (Institut d’Ecologie Politique) en plus de liens avec la Bulgarie et la Roumanie.)

Au fil des années s’est créé un collectif composé d’organisateurs de chacune des conférences internationales. Membres du Comité d’organisation : Paris (Francois Schneider), Barcelona (Filka Sekulova, Federico Demaria), Montréal (Bob Thomson), Venise (Chiara Marchetti, Silvio Cristiano, Jean-Louis Alliot), Leipzig (Nina Treu, Corinna Burkhart, Barbara Muraca, Gualter Baptista), Budapest (Lidija Zivcic, Mladen Domazet, Vincent Liegey), Malmö (Ekaterina Chertkovskaya), Mexico City (Miguel Valencia), Bruxelles (Olivier Derruine).

Objectifs

Le mouvement a pour objectif de:

  • rompre avec les discours de croissance et de consumérisme,

  • réactiver la réflexion autour de projets alternatifs pour un après-développement,

  • promouvoir la réflexion autour des valeurs d’autonomie, de démocratie, de justice, de solidarité, de liberté et d’égalité,

  • développer un cadre théorique et interprétatif pour les mouvements de la transition écologique.

Il s’agit d’engendrer de manière démocratique une réduction socialement soutenable et équitable de la taille physique du système économique global jusqu’à un niveau jugé environnementalement soutenable. En conséquence, un tel changement, surtout dans les pays les plus riches, requerrait probablement de profondes transformations des institutions des sociétés capitalistes, des modes de vie, mais aussi des imaginaires.

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • recherche, analyse

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • gouvernance