Attac

Identity card

Created in 1998, Attac (Association for the Taxation of Financial Transactions and for Citizens’ Action) fights for social and environmental justice, and against finance’s stronghold on peoples and the environment.

Attac acts to encourage the development of alternatives, and to give citizens control over banks and predatory corporations.

To educate the population, the association produces analyses and expertise, organises conferences and public meetings, participates in protests, etc.

In 2017, Attac was present in about fifty countries; Attac France has more than 10,000 members and about a hundred local committees acting all across France.

Objectives

1. Disarm financial markets

There was nothing accidental about the financial crisis; it was the logical outcome of a game of roulette to decide the future of the planet, in what can be seen as a kind of gigantic casino. In the past five years no serious action has been taken to disarm speculation, so another financial crisis is likely to occur.

Everyone agrees that inequalities have increased at an astounding rate; this is the result of labour-produced riches being funnelled toward shareholders. Access to decent work and social rights for all should take precedence over share prices.

2. Respond to the climate emergency

Productivism, which destroys ecological equilibriums, is being exacerbated by the search for short-term profits, that the system is now trying to encourage via “the green economy”, carbon finance and ‘right to pollute’ markets.

International cooperation and the relocation of activities must be used as a basis for inventing development modes focused on the satisfaction of social and ecological needs.

3. Rethink democracy

The European Union is drifting toward an anti-social authoritarian model, in which banks and rating agencies make and unmake governments. Debt, a tool to put pressure on peoples in Southern countries—with the help of the International Monetary Fund—is now being used for the same purpose in Europe.

The democratic citizens’ movements springing up in many countries are proof of peoples’ refusal to be dictated to by banks, financial institutions and the political leaders in their pay, and their search for paths to true democracy.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • training
  • mobilization, rally
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • books, reviews publishing

Target audience

  • economic players
  • activists, campaigners
  • associations
  • public authorities, elected representatives, administrations
  • banking, finance
  • consumers
  • teachers, education professions
  • general public
  • international institutions
  • medias, journalists
  • politicians, political parties
  • organised civil society
  • trade unions
  • think tanks
  • academics
  • students
  • economists, SEE actors

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • environment
  • Climate energy
  • democracy

Attac

Carte d’identité

Fondée en 1998, Attac (Association pour la taxation des transactions financières et pour l’action citoyenne) est une association qui milite pour la justice sociale et environnementale, et conteste le pouvoir pris par la finance sur les peuples et la nature.

Attac mène des actions pour favoriser le développement d’alternatives et pour mettre sous contrôle citoyen les banques et multinationales prédatrices.

Mouvement d’éducation populaire, l’association produit analyses et expertises, organise des conférences, des réunions publiques, participe à des manifestations…

En 2017, Attac est présente dans une cinquantaine de pays ; Attac France compte plus de 10 000 membres et une centaine de comités locaux qui agissent partout en France.

Objectifs

1. Désarmer les marchés financiers

La crise financière n’est pas un accident, elle est le résultat logique d’un gigantesque casino où l’avenir de la planète se joue à la roulette. Depuis cinq ans rien de sérieux n’a été décidé pour désarmer la spéculation, une nouvelle crise financière devient probable.

L’explosion des inégalités, désormais reconnue de tous, vient du détournement vers les actionnaires de la richesse produite par le travail. L’accès de toutes et de tous à un travail décent et aux droits sociaux doit avoir la priorité sur les cours boursiers.

2. Répondre à l’urgence climatique

Le productivisme qui détruit les équilibres écologiques est exacerbé par la recherche du profit à court terme, qu’on tente maintenant de relancer via « l’économie verte », la finance carbone et les marchés de « droits à polluer ».

Par la coopération internationale et la relocalisation des activités, il faut inventer des mode de développement tournés vers la satisfaction des besoins sociaux et écologiques.

3. Repenser la démocratie

L’Union européenne dérive vers un modèle antisocial et autoritaire, où les banques et les agences de notation font et défont les gouvernements. La dette publique, outil pour pressurer les peuples du Sud avec l’aide du Fonds monétaire international, est aujourd’hui instrumentalisée dans le même but en Europe.

Les puissantes mobilisations citoyennes et démocratiques qui se multiplient dans de nombreux pays marquent le refus de la dictature des banques, de la finance et d’une classe politique inféodée, et la recherche des voies d’une démocratie réelle.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues

Publics cibles

  • acteurs économiques
  • activistes, militants
  • associations
  • autorités publiques, élus, administrations
  • banque, finance
  • consommateurs
  • enseignants, monde de l’éducation
  • grand public
  • institutions internationales
  • médias, journalistes
  • politiques, partis politiques
  • société civile organisée
  • syndicats
  • think tanks
  • universitaires
  • étudiants
  • économistes, acteurs de l’ESS

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • environnement
  • climat énergie
  • démocratie