Alternatiba

Identity card

Alternatiba is a citizens’ movement for the climate and for social justice.

Created in Bayonne in 2013, Alternatiba is based on two observations: First, global warming is accelerating, it affects the world’s poorest populations and it is endangering life on Earth in the medium term. We must act now, before unstoppable climate change forces are set in motion. Second, solutions exist and are within our reach. Alternatiba wants to point out, strengthen and develop those solutions to change the system, not the climate!

Objectives

  • diffuse the message concerning the urgency of acting on climate change, make the public at large, and elected officials on the local, national and European levels, aware of the need to quickly and radically lower our greenhouse gas emissions;

  • combat the effects of shock, feelings of powerlessness and resulting paralysis that the gravity and scope of climate challenges may induce, by showing that solutions do exist, are within our reach, and can bring about a more united world based on sharing and human values;

  • call for an immediate start to the social, energy and ecological transition needed to avoid profound and irreversible disruption of climate mechanisms;

  • help attain the objectives of the Paris Agreement (keep global warming below 1.5°C or 2°C maximum), not only by encouraging governments to truly adhere to them, but also through direct citizen actions such as attracting the attention of political and economic leaders, and carrying out constructive actions on the territorial level;

  • provide more indepth training in climate change and social justice to the activist movement that took hold at COP21;

  • contribute to the convergence of alternatives to the dominant economic system;

  • make the citizens’ movement mesh better with existing organisations and movements, so that the climate movement as a whole is strengthened.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • training
  • networking of actors
  • mobilization, rally
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Target audience

  • activists, campaigners
  • associations
  • public authorities, elected representatives, administrations
  • local authorities
  • communities, minorities
  • consumers
  • general public
  • politicians, political parties
  • social networks
  • organised civil society
  • students

Thematic areas

  • Climate energy
  • environment
  • economy
  • tools & methods
  • citizenship

Alternatiba

Carte d’identité

Alternatiba est un mouvement citoyen pour le climat et la justice sociale.

Né à Bayonne en 2013, il s’est fondé sur deux constats. D’une part, le réchauffement climatique s’accélère, touche les populations les plus pauvres de la planète et menace à moyen-terme les conditions de vie sur Terre. C’est maintenant qu’il faut agir pour nous éviter d’atteindre des seuils d’emballement climatique inarrêtables. D’autre part, des solutions existent et sont à portée de mains, elles n’attendent que nous. Alternatiba veut les montrer, les renforcer et les développer pour changer le système, pas le climat !

Objectifs

• diffuser le message de l’urgence climatique, sensibiliser le grand public et les élus (locaux, nationaux, européens) à la nécessité de baisser rapidement et radicalement nos émissions de gaz à effet de serre ;

• combattre l’effet de sidération, le sentiment d’impuissance et donc la démobilisation que peuvent provoquer la gravité et l’importance du défi climatique, en montrant que les solutions existent et qu’elles sont à notre portée, porteuses d’un monde plus humain, convivial et solidaire ;

• appeler à mettre en route sans plus attendre la transition sociale, énergétique et écologique nécessaire pour éviter le dérèglement profond et irréversible des mécanismes du climat ;

• contribuer à ce que les objectifs de l’Accord de Paris (maintenir le réchauffement climatique en dessous de 1,5°C ou 2°C maximum) soient réellement appliqués, non seulement par les gouvernements mais également par l’action directe des citoyens, en interpellant les pouvoirs politiques et économiques, et en menant des actions constructives citoyennes à l’échelle des territoires ;

• approfondir la formation du mouvement militant qui a émergé à l’occasion de la COP21 sur la thématique du changement climatique et de la justice sociale ;

• contribuer à la convergence des alternatives au système économique dominant ;

• renforcer la complémentarité de la dynamique de mobilisation citoyenne avec les organisations et les mouvements déjà existants, afin de renforcer le mouvement climat global.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Publics cibles

  • activistes, militants
  • associations
  • autorités publiques, élus, administrations
  • collectivités territoriales
  • communautés, minorités
  • consommateurs
  • grand public
  • politiques, partis politiques
  • réseaux sociaux
  • société civile organisée
  • étudiants

Thèmes de travail

  • climat énergie
  • environnement
  • économie
  • outils et méthodes
  • citoyenneté