Artisans de la Transition

Identity card

Artisans de la Transition was created in March 2016 to work toward an ecological transition. Its first goals are the abandonment of fossil fuels, energy conservation and the use of renewable energy sources, in view of building a post-carbon economy that will in turn act as a springboard for a post-growth economy.

The goal of Artisans de la Transition is to be a think and do tank based on the best academic knowledge and experience in the field. The association gathers and filters experience and information, reflects on the most pertinent ways to work toward the transition, and seeks to understand what determines people’s capacity to act to attain this goal; it also initiates, accompanies and follows up on the pioneering projects it thinks have the highest priority.

Objectives

The idea is to simultaneously eliminate everything that closes the doors to the future—fossil fuels and nuclear energy in particular—and encourage everything that reopens those doors. The association favours low-tech solutions, and catalyses citizens’ movements that bring the most inventive ideas from lower layers of civil society to the attention of the most committed institutional elements. Governance is considered important at all levels: individual, household, (eco)neighbourhood, company, public institution, community of interest or geographical community, (eco)village, town, city, department, district, region, State.

In planning their action, Artisans de la Transition takes the weaknesses and strengths of human cognitive functions and psychology into account, cooperates with other groups and institutions—including those whose explicit purpose is not the resolution of environment and climate issues, and defines the transition in cultural and spiritual terms to give it meaning for the majority. The association is active in Switzerland, French-speaking areas of Europe and beyond.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • diffusion of best pratices creation of labels
  • training
  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • expertise
  • books, reviews publishing
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information

Target audience

  • economic players
  • activists, campaigners
  • associations
  • public authorities, elected representatives, administrations
  • banking, finance
  • local authorities
  • general public
  • medias, journalists
  • politicians, political parties
  • organised civil society
  • think tanks
  • academics
  • economists, SEE actors
  • students

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • Climate energy
  • environment
  • tools & methods
  • information

Artisans de la Transition

Carte d’identité

Créée en mars 2016, l’association Artisans de la transition s’est donnée pour mission d’œuvrer pour la transition écologique, en commençant par la promotion de la sortie des énergies fossiles, des économies d’énergie et des énergies renouvelables dans l’optique de bâtir une économie post-carbone elle-même tremplin à l’émergence d’une économie post-croissance.

Les Artisans de la transition ont pour ambition d’être un think et do tank fondé sur le meilleur de la connaissance académique et des expérimentations de terrain. Ils recueillent et filtrent expériences et informations, réfléchissent aux moyens les plus pertinents d’agir en faveur de la transition, cherchent ce qui détermine la capacité à agir dans ce but et initient, accompagnent et suivent des projets pionniers qu’ils jugent prioritaires.

Objectifs

Il s’agit simultanément d’éliminer ce qui ferme la porte de l’avenir, en particulier les énergies fossiles et l’industrie nucléaire, et d’encourager ce qui la rouvre. L’association privilégie les options low tech, catalyse des dynamiques citoyennes qui allient le meilleur de l’inventivité issu du bas de la société civile au meilleur de l’engagement issu du haut des institutions. Toutes les échelles de la gouvernance sont pour elle pertinentes : individu, foyer, (éco)quartier, entreprise, établissement public, communauté d’intérêt ou de lieu, (éco)village, ville, agglomération, département, district, canton, région, Etat.

Pour envisager leur action, les Artisans de la transition tiennent compte des failles et des atouts du fonctionnement cognitif et psychologique humain, s’intéressent à la coopération, y compris avec des institutions et des groupes humains qui n’ont pas pour but explicite de résoudre les problèmes écologique et climatique, envisagent la transition en tant que projet culturel et spirituel susceptible de lui donner du sens auprès d’une majorité. L’association est active en Suisse, dans l’espace francophone européen et au-delà.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • diffusion de bonnes pratiques, création de labels
  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • production d’expertise
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information

Publics cibles

  • acteurs économiques
  • activistes, militants
  • associations
  • autorités publiques, élus, administrations
  • banque, finance
  • collectivités territoriales
  • grand public
  • médias, journalistes
  • politiques, partis politiques
  • société civile organisée
  • think tanks
  • universitaires
  • économistes, acteurs de l’ESS
  • étudiants

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • climat énergie
  • environnement
  • outils et méthodes
  • information