European Movement International (EMI)

Identity card

The European Movement is the largest pan-European network of pro-European organisations. It is present in 39 countries and encompasses 36 International Associations, bringing together European civil society, business, trade unions, NGOs, political parties, local authorities and academia.

Founded 70 years ago, the EMI has continuously advocated in favour of European co-operation and integration, based on the principles of peace, democracy, liberty, solidarity, equality, justice, the respect for human rights and the rule of law.

Today the European Movement seeks to provide a platform to encourage and facilitate the active participation of citizens and stakeholders from a cross-section of sectors in the development of European solutions to our common challenges. It offers thought leadership on the issues that confront Europe; seeks to inform the debates on our Union’s future, involve citizens and stakeholders in the decisions that affect them and influence policy-makers in favour of an open, inclusive, transparent and united Europe.

Objectives

The European Movement aims to be the place where civil society, business, trade unions, NGOs, political parties, local authorities and academia come together to craft a way forward for the European Union. The EMI seeks to develop new ideas to address the challenges we face, be it economic or political. It wants to spark debate on the EU’s architecture and develop forward-looking proposals on how to govern our affairs at the European level.

EMI members are engaged in the daily business of influencing policy-making in the areas that affect them.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • development of teaching material
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • diffusion of best pratices creation of labels
  • non-governmental, citizen democracy
  • research, analysis
  • expertise
  • training
  • networking of actors
  • mobilization, rally
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information
  • books, reviews publishing

Target audience

  • citizens
  • international institutions

Thematic areas

  • migration
  • peace
  • democracy
  • citizenship
  • culture
  • governance
  • law and justice
  • economy
  • education
  • environment
  • research and technological innovation
  • Climate energy

European Movement International (MEI)

Carte d’identité

The Mouvement européen international (MEI) est le plus large mouvement pan-européen d’organisations pro-Europe. Il est présent dans 39 pays, comprend 36 associations internationales, et réunit des membres de la société civile européenne, du monde de l’entreprise, des synicats, des ONG, des partis politiques, des collectivités locales et du monde académique.

Fondé il y a 70 ans, le MEI a toujours plaidé en faveur de l’intégration et de la coopération européennes, basées sur des principes de paix, de démocratie, de liberté, de solidarité, d’égalité, de justice, de respect des droits humains et des lois.

De nos jours, le Mouvement européen veut offrir une plateforme pour encourager et favoriser la participation active des citoyens et des acteurs à travers un débat multiacteurs et multisecteurs dans la recherche de solutions européennes à nos défis communs. Il propose un leadership éclairé sur les problèmes auxquels l’Europe est confrontée; veut informer sur l’état des débat sur l’avenir de l’Union, impliquer les citoyens et les acteurs dans des décisions qui les affectent, et exercer une influence sur les décideurs politiques pour une Europe plus ouverte, inclusive, transparente et unie.

Objectifs

Le Mouvement européen veut être le lieu où la société civile, les syndicats, les ONG, les parties politiques, les collectivités territoriales et le monde académique se réunissent pour ensemble esquisser le chemin vers une Union européenne. Le MEI veut développer des idées nouvelles pour répondre aux défis auxquels l’Europe fait face, qu’ils soient économiques ou politiques. Il cherche à étendre le débat sur l’architecture de l’Union européenne et développer des propositions d’avenir sur la manière de gouverner au niveau européen.

Les membres du MEI sont engagés au quotidien dans un travail de plaidoyer sur les politiques qui affectent la gouvernance européenne.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • élaboration de matériel pédagogique
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • diffusion de bonnes pratiques, création de labels
  • diplomatie citoyenne, non gouvernementale
  • recherche, analyse
  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues

Publics cibles

  • citoyens
  • institutions internationales

Thèmes de travail

  • migration
  • paix
  • démocratie
  • citoyenneté
  • culture
  • gouvernance
  • droit
  • économie
  • éducation
  • environnement
  • recherche et innovation technologique
  • climat énergie