Réseaux pour l’action collective transnationale (RE’ACT)

Identity card

The non-profit association known as ReAct (Réseaux pour l’action collective transnationale for ‘Transnational collective action network) was created in 2010 as the result of a widely shared analysis: social and environmental injustice persist primarily because the interests of big companies are given precedence over the best interests of the majority. ReAct hopes to help people affected by this abuse of power to organise into groups capable of defending the rights and best interests of all.

ReAct is based in France but has a network of organisations in Morocco, Cameroon, Liberia, Cote d’Ivoire and Cambodia. It supports the construction of local organisations and transnational alliances to express the demands of people affected by social and environmental injustice.

ReAct’s methods are built on Saul Alinsky’s historical heritage of community organizing, the union organising that Cesar Chavez developed within the National Farm Workers’ Association (NFWA), and Wade Rathke’s work at ACORN International.

Objectives

ReAct has set itself the goal of supporting citizens and workers from across the world who organise to defend their economic and social rights in the face of corporate power.

ReAct hopes to strengthen existing unions by quickly, flexibly and personally connecting them with workers’ groups throughout the company.

Modes of action

  • training
  • networking of actors
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • development of teaching material
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Target audience

  • activists, campaigners
  • associations
  • citizens
  • communities, minorities
  • policy-makers
  • general public
  • Poor and vulnerable people
  • trade unions
  • workers

Thematic areas

  • law and justice
  • citizenship
  • education
  • ethics
  • responsibility

Réseaux pour l’action collective transnationale (RE’ACT)

Carte d’identité

Le ReAct, association a but non lucratif, basée à Grenoble (France) est né en 2010 d’une analyse partagée: les injustices sociales et environnementales ont pour cause principale la prévalence des intérêts des grandes entreprises sur ceux de la majorité des personnes. Le ReAct souhaite aider les personnes affectées par ces abus à s’organiser afin de construire un pouvoir social à même de défendre les droits et intérêts du plus grand nombre.

Le ReAct, basé en France, dispose d’un réseau d’organisations dans différents pays : Maroc, Cameroun, Libéria, Côte d’Ivoire et Cambodge. Il soutient la construction d’organisations locales et d’alliances transnationales pour porter les revendications des personnes affectées.

Les méthodes du ReAct découlent de l’héritage historique du « community organizing » de Saul Alinsky et de « l’union organizing » développé aux Etats Unis par Cesar Chavez au sein de la National Farm Workers Association (NFWA), ou encore Wade Rathke au sein d’ACORN International.

Objectifs

Le ReAct se donne pour mission d’appuyer l’organisation collective des citoyen.nes et travailleur.ses à travers le monde pour défendre leurs droits économiques et sociaux face au pouvoir des multinationales.

Le ReAct vise le renforcement des organisations syndicales existantes par une mise en réseau rapide, flexible et personnelle entre les syndicats et groupes de travailleurs à travers l’entreprise.

Modes d’action

  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • élaboration de matériel pédagogique
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Publics cibles

  • activistes, militants
  • associations
  • citoyens
  • communautés, minorités
  • décideurs politiques
  • grand public
  • populations pauvres et vulnérables
  • syndicats
  • salariés

Thèmes de travail

  • droit
  • citoyenneté
  • éducation
  • éthique
  • responsabilité