Mouvement pour l’économie solidaire (MES)

Identity card

The Mouvement pour l’Économie solidaire (MES) or movement for the solidarity economy is an ongoing grouping of actors involved in an alternative, solidarity-based approach to economics. These actors support economic citizenship and assert their desire to make the economy a resource at the service of a societal project based on solidarity, sharing and reciprocity. MES was created in March 2002 in Lille, France, by networks that initially combined in June 1997 to form the Inter-Réseaux de l’Économie Solidaire.

The Movement, currently being developed, strives to bring together all organisations in the solidarity economy that are interested in a transversal, innovative and decompartmentalised space for exchanges. Since its creation it has been composed of national networks, support structures, research laboratories and regional network heads in the Solidarity Economy, united by a shared vision of the solidarity economy, which may be defined as “all production, trade, savings and consumption activities that contribute to the democratisation of the economy, ecological vigilance and social justice and that are based on citizen commitments”.

MES is a member of SSE-FRANCE, and participates in the SSE’s High Council. It also helps promote the SSE by participating in RIPESS Europe. MES is a RIPESS founder and a member of the Coordinating Committee since the outset.

Objectives

First, the objective of MES is to:

– develop alternative practices in the economic and social fields.

– get everyone to agree that solidarity economy practices can no longer be discussed without asking oneself questions of a political nature.

MES, along with many other actors, wants to:

– set up an acknowledged space for the solidarity economy,

– draft policy proposals.

MES supports the development of alternative economic practices for which profitability is not the ultimate goal, and is committed to democratising the economy.

It aims to:

– promote and develop the solidarity economy by developing territory- and theme-based networks,

– capitalize on and pool experiences,

– encourage cooperation in the framework of construction of the European and international solidarity economy.

Modes of action

  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • training

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • law and justice
  • governance
  • local territory management

Mouvement pour l’économie solidaire (MES)

Carte d’identité

Le Mouvement pour l’Économie Solidaire (MES) est issu d’une continuité de regroupements d’acteurs qui inscrivent leurs actions dans une démarche économique alternative et solidaire. Promoteurs d’une citoyenneté économique, ils revendiquent leur volonté de concevoir l’économie comme un moyen au service d’un projet de société basé sur des valeurs de solidarité, de partage et de réciprocité. Le Mouvement pour l’Économie Solidaire a été fondé à Lille en Mars 2002 par les réseaux initialement regroupés dans l’Inter-Réseaux de l’Économie Solidaire depuis Juin 1997.

Le Mouvement est une organisation en développement qui souhaite rassembler toutes les organisations s’inscrivant dans l’économie solidaire et intéressées par un espace d’échanges et de coopération transversal, innovant et décloisonné. Il est composé depuis sa fondation par des réseaux nationaux, des structures d’appui, des laboratoires de recherche et des têtes de réseau régionales de l’Économie Solidaire, qui se rassemblent autour d’une vision partagée de l’économie solidaire qui peut être définie comme « l’ensemble des activités de production, d’échange, d’épargne et de consommation contribuant à la démocratisation de l’économie, la vigilance écologique et la justice sociale à partir d’engagements citoyens ».

Le MES est membre d’ESS-FRANCE, et participe au Conseil Supérieur de l’ESS. Il contribue également à la promotion de l’ESS par sa participation au RIPESS Europe dont il est un des fondateurs et, depuis l’origine, membre du Comité de coordination.

Objectifs

Le MES a d’abord pour objectif :

  • de développer des pratiques alternatives dans le champ économique et social.

  • de faire reconnaitre que les pratiques d’économie solidaire représentent désormais des enjeux qui ne peuvent plus être abordés sans se poser des questions de nature politique.

Le MES, en lien avec de nombreux acteurs, souhaite :

  • mettre en place un espace reconnu pour l’économie solidaire,

  • élaborer des propositions politiques.

Le MES soutient le développement de pratiques économiques alternatives n’ayant pas la rentabilité financière comme ultime fin, et s’engage pour démocratiser l’économie.

Il vise à :

  • promouvoir et développer l’économie solidaire à travers le développement de réseaux territoriaux et thématiques,

  • capitaliser et mutualiser les expériences,

  • encourager les coopérations dans le cadre de la construction de l’économie solidaire européenne et internationale.

Modes d’action

  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • formation

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • droit
  • gouvernance
  • gestion des territoires