Collectif des associations citoyennes (CAC)

Identity card

Since 2010, CAC (Collectif des associations citoyennes or Collective of Citizens Associations) has functioned as a watchdog and early alert system that provides mutual support for citizens’ association and a place for debate and joint discussions. The CAC was created in 2010 when a formal complaint against the ‘Circulaire Fillon’ was presented to the Conseil d’Etat: this act tended to define associations in terms of their economic dimension alone and to assimilate them, in fact, with traditional lucrative companies. This inaugural struggle represented the first component of CAC’s commitment: resistance to the phenomenon of ‘commodification of the associative sector (areas of activity: social action, culture, ecology, media, access to the law, international solidarity, etc.). Associations’ participation in public action is the second component, and the participation of citizens’ associations in the ecological transition is the third. The CAC also presents itself as an observer of changes in the associative sector. It identifies and publicises associative instances that propose alternatives and offer hope. The group has devoted much effort to the social and solidarity-based economy in the past few years and, in particular, has published an article-by-article analysis of the SSE law and an indepth, critical analysis of Social Impact Bonds.

In the new political context it is also important to show that group action has a role to play alongside individual initiatives, that citizens in association are the principal actors in ‘social innovation’, and that disinterested associative action is vital to the functioning of society.

The association now has 250 members, 2 paid employees and approximately 130 active volunteers. CAC has 18,000 contacts, 2800 of which are associations. Amongst those are 180 regional or departmental associations and 150 national networks, of which 50 are registered members (representing a large number of other members). Many of these are FPH partners or close associates (ex. ATTAC, AITEC, Citizen Science, Amis de la confédération paysanne, CRID, CIMADE, Ritimo, MRAP).

The Collective of Citizen Associations relies on the instances defined in its bylaws (Boards of Directors and General Assemblies) to determine its strategic directions, but also takes into account feedback from Summer University/seminar sessions and plenary meetings (open to non-members) in defining these directions and working areas.

Objectives

The objective of the CAC is to focus on and commit itself to:

  • the fight against financialization

  • associations’ participation in public action

  • observation of changes in the associative world

  • ecology and transitions

  • rights and freedoms for associations

  • foresight

– associations’ viewpoints.

The Collective attempts to link associations working on the local or regional level to improve their increasingly difficult situations. It is also important to the Collective to give hope to associations, and an awareness of how their actions contribute to the future of society.

Modes of action

  • networking of actors
  • mobilization, rally
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • books, reviews publishing
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • governance
  • law and justice
  • local territory management

Collectif des associations citoyennes (CAC)

Carte d’identité

Le Collectif des associations citoyennes (CAC) est, depuis 2010, une cellule de veille, d’alerte et de soutien mutuel pour les associations citoyennes, et un lieu de débat et de réflexion commune. Le CAC est né en 2010, d’une lutte originelle : le dépôt d’un recours auprès du Conseil d’État contre la « Circulaire Fillon » qui tendait à réduire les associations à leur seule dimension économique et à les assimiler, de fait, à des entreprises lucratives classiques. Ce combat inaugural constitue la première composante de l’engagement du CAC : la résistance au phénomène de marchandisation du fait associatif (domaines d’activité : action sociale, culture, écologie, médias, accès au droit, solidarité internationale, etc.). La participation des associations à l’action publique est le deuxième socle thématique, et la participation des associations citoyennes à la transition écologique est le troisième. Le CAC se positionne également comme une instance d’observation de l’évolution du secteur associatif. Il repère et rend publiques, les initiatives associatives porteuses d’alternatives et d’espoir. Ces dernières années le collectif a beaucoup travaillé sur l’économie sociale et solidaire, et a notamment publié une analyse article par article de la loi ESS et une critique approfondie et argumentée des Social Impact Bonds.

Dans le nouveau contexte politique, il s’agit aussi de montrer que l’action collective a toute sa place aux côtés d’initiatives individuelles, que les citoyens associés sont les principaux acteurs de « l’innovation sociale », que l’action associative désintéressée est indispensable au fonctionnement de la société.

L’association compte aujourd’hui 250 adhérents, 2 salariés et environ 130 bénévoles actifs. Le Collectif est en lien avec 18 000 personnes, dont 2 800 associations. Parmi elles 180 associations régionales ou départementales, et 150 réseaux nationaux, dont 50 sont formellement adhérents (représentant eux-mêmes un grand nombre d’adhérents). Parmi eux, nombre d’entre elles sont partenaires ou proches de la FPH (ex. ATTAC, AITEC, Sciences citoyennes, Amis de la confédération paysanne, CRID, CIMADE, Ritimo, MRAP).

Le Collectif des associations citoyennes fonctionne à partir d’instances statutaires (Conseils d’Administration et Assemblées Générales) qui décident des orientations, mais aussi d’Université d’été/séminaires et de réunions plénières (ouvertes aux non membres) qui aident à définir ces orientations et axes de travail.

Objectifs

Le CAC a pour objectif de travailler sur plusieurs thématiques et de s’y engager :

  • la lutte contre la financiarisation

  • la participation des associations à l’action publique

  • l’observation des évolution du monde associatif

  • l’écologie et transitions

  • les droits et libertés pour les associations

  • la prospective

  • la parole des associations.

Le Collectif a entrepris de mettre en lien les associations qui se mobilisent au niveau local ou régional contre leur situation, de plus en plus difficile. Il s’agit également de redonner espoir aux associations et leur donner conscience de la portée de leur action pour l’avenir de la société.

Modes d’action

  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • gouvernance
  • droit
  • gestion des territoires