La chambre de l’ESS vaudoise (APRÈS-VD)

Identity card

The first Social and Solidarity Economy Chamber (APRES-GE) was created in Geneva, Switzerland, in 2005. The following year an informal working group was set up in the canton of Vaud; this group founded APRES-VD in 2009. Then in 2012, APRES-BEJUNE, which covers the cantons of Berne (French-speaking part), Jura and Neuchâtel, saw the light of day. Other initiatives are slowly emerging.

Après-VD works with the Geneva and Berne-Jura-Neuchâtel chambers as well as other partners. An SSE Charter shared by the Chambers now proposes a federating vision built on seven values that encourage individuals, organisations and companies to join the existing network: 1. social well-being, 2. citizenship and participative democracy, 3. ecology, 4. financial autonomy, 5. solidarity, 6. diversity, 7. coherence between principles and practice.

Because the Vaud Social and Solidarity Economy Chamber is committed to supporting and developing a people- and environment-friendly economy in the canton of Vaud, it focuses on developing activities and services that support the SSE and its members. To translate these values into concrete actions, the Geneva Chamber has defined a set of membership criteria and developed a tool to evaluate the management of organisations and companies.

From 2012 to 2015, APRES-VD successfully led an INTERREG transborder project devoted to the state of the SSE in the Vaud, Geneva, Rhône-Alpes and Franche-Comté regions. This project also benefitted from the support of a scientific council that included Sophie Swaton, Professor at Lausanne University’s Institute of Geography and Sustainability (IGD).

At the end of 2017, the Chamber had 62 collective members (associations, foundations, cooperatives, sole proprietorships and companies) and about twenty individual members.

Objectives

The association’s mission is to promote the values of the social and solidarity economy by working primarily in the following areas:

– Develop the network of social and solidarity economy organisations that are active in the Vaud area;

– Organise activities to promote the social and solidarity economy;

– Support development of the social and solidarity economy on the local and global levels.

More specifically, to strengthen the SSE in Switzerland, the Chamber wishes to: - identify pioneering experiences on the national scale and make them widely known; - spread best practices; - set up research-action projects with the academic world; - develop theoretical and practical arguments to defend the SSE.

While SSE chambers were created to bring together actors, promote and support a local economy development dynamic and form a society (shared charter), the possibility of political and legislative recognition remains a long-term objective.

Modes of action

  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • books, reviews publishing
  • training
  • research, analysis

Thematic areas

  • economy
  • governance

La chambre de l’ESS vaudoise (APRÈS-VD)

Carte d’identité

La première Chambre de l’économie sociale et solidaire a été créée en Suisse en 2005 à Genève (APRÈS-GE). Dès 2006, un groupe de travail informel s’est formé dans le canton de Vaud et a fondé l’association APRÈS-VD en 2009. En 2012, APRÈS-BEJUNE a vu le jour et couvre les cantons de Berne (partie francophone), Jura et Neuchâtel. D’autres initiatives émergent peu à peu.

Après-VD travaille avec les chambres genevoises et Berne-Jura-Neuchâtel ainsi que d’autres partenaires. Une Charte de l’ESS commune aux chambres propose actuellement une vision fédératrice autour de sept valeurs qui encouragent personnes privées, organisations et entreprises à rejoidnre le réseau existant : 1. bien-être social, 2. citoyenneté et démocratie participative, 3. écologie, 4. autonomie financière, 5. solidarité, 6. diversité, 7. cohérence entre les principes et la pratique.

La Chambre de l’économie sociale et solidaire vaudoise s’engage pour soutenir et développer une économie à visage humain et respectueuse de l’environnement dans le canton de Vaud et en conséquence se concentre sur le développement d’activités et de services visant à promouvoir l’ESS et ses membres. Afin de matérialiser ces valeurs en actes concrets, la Chambre genevoise a défini un ensemble de critères d’adhésion et conçu un outil d’évaluation de la gestion des organisations et entreprises.

De 2012 à 2015, APRÈS-VD, a piloté avec succès un projet transfrontalier INTERREG consacré à l’état des lieux de l’ESS sur les territoires vaudois, genevois, de Rhône-Alpes et de la Franche-Comté. Ce projet avait aussi bénéficié de l’accompagnement d’un conseil scientifique dont faisait partie Sophie Swaton, maître d’enseignement et de recherche à l’Institut de géographie et durabilité de l’UNIL.

A fin 2017, la Chambre compte 62 membres collectifs (associations, fondations, coopératives, raisons individuelles et sociétés commerciales) et une vingtaine de membres individuels.

Objectifs

L’association a pour mission de promouvoir les valeurs de l’économie sociale et solidaire, en travaillant principalement sur les axes suivants :

  • Développer le réseau des organisations de l’économie sociale et solidaire actives sur le territoire vaudois ;

  • Organiser des activités de promotion de l’économie sociale et solidaire ;

  • Soutenir le développement de l’économie sociale et solidaire au niveau local et global.

Plus spécifiquement, pour renforcer l’ESS en Suisse, la Chambre souhaite intervenir sur : -identifier des expériences (pionnières) à l’échelle nationale et les faire connaître ; - diffuser des bonnes pratiques ; - monter des projets de recherche-action avec le monde académique ; - aboutir à une argumentation théorique et pratique de défense de l’ESS.

Si les chambres de l’ESS se sont créées afin de rassembler les acteurs, de promouvoir et d’accompagner la dynamique de développement d’une économie locale et à but sociétal (charte commune), la perspective de reconnaissance politique et législative reste un objectif à plus long terme.

Modes d’action

  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • formation
  • recherche, analyse

Thèmes de travail

  • économie
  • gouvernance