Inf’OGM

Identity card

An association under the French law of 1901, Inf’OGM is a citizen watchdog group that examines world news and provides a unique portal for information in French on GMOs, biotechnologies and, since 2013, seeds as well. Inf’OGM summarises, verifies, clarifies, places in context and translates into French all GMO-related news as a ‘public service’. The association feels that, for citizen debate to emerge and to enable the entire society to make informed decisions, information must be made understandable, and diffused. Thus since 1999, Inf’OGM has worked to collect and process information on the GMO situation in France and across the world. The association produces and diffuses critical, independent information and strives to make sure all information is truly transparent.

Inf’OGM feels that technical discussions tend to draw attention away from the social issues involved. Yet current challenges such as the environmental, social and climate crises require a global vision incompatible with technical reductionism, which focuses on resolving short-term problems. The association calls for public authorities to provide truly transparent information, and to make information on GMOs available via an efficient and reliable public service structure.

In the framework of its projects, Inf’OGM continues to develop partnerships. The association is regularly in contact with many civil society actors in France, Europe and across the globe, the political realm (European Commission, European Parliament, EU Council, French and European senators and deputies, ministries, etc.) and agencies that provide technical expertise (AESA, HCB, Anses, etc.). Inf’OGM is and always has been a member of the European GMO information network known as GENET. The association also has a partnership agreement with the Biocoop network.

Objectives

Inf’OGM has set itself the goal of working toward true transparency in the GMO debate.

The association strives to:

  • summarise, verify, clarify, place in context and translate into French all GMO-related news in the spirit of a ‘public service’;

  • give the various citizen movements that resist, question or have doubts about GMOs the building blocks required for real social dialogue, insisting above all on the fact that citizens are capable of making technological choices.

  • push public authorities to provide transparent information, and to make information on GMOs available via an efficient and reliable public service structure.

Thematic areas

  • agriculture and food
  • environment
  • information
  • citizenship

Inf’OGM

Carte d’identité

Association de loi 1901, Inf’OGM est une veille citoyenne qui décrypte l’actualité mondiale et propose un service unique d’information francophone sur les OGM, les biotechnologies et, depuis 2013, également sur les semences. Inf’OGM synthétise, vérifie, clarifie, contextualise, traduit en français et diffuse toute l’actualité pertinente liée aux OGM, et ce dans un esprit de “ service au public ”. L’association considère que pour que le débat citoyen puisse émerger et que l’ensemble de la société puisse prendre des décisions en connaissance de cause, il est primordial de rendre l’information compréhensible et de la diffuser. Depuis 1999, Inf’OGM réalise donc un travail de recueil et de traitement de l’information sur la situation des OGM en France et dans le monde. L’association produit et diffuse une information critique et indépendante et œuvre pour une véritable transparence de toute information.

Inf’OGM considère que le débat technique a tendance à éclipser le débat social. Or, les défis actuels - crise environnementale, sociale, climatique, etc. - demandent une vision globale, incompatible avec le réductionnisme technique qui s’attache à régler les problèmes à court terme. L’association exige des pouvoirs publics une véritable transparence de l’information, et la mise en place d’un service public efficace et fiable d’informations sur les OGM.

Dans le cadre de ses projets, Inf’OGM continue de développer des partenariats. Elle est en contact régulier avec nombre d’acteurs de la société civile (française, européenne et internationale), du monde politique (Commission européenne, Parlement européen, Conseil de l’Union européenne, sénateurs et députés français et européens, ministères…) et des agences d’expertises (AESA, HCB, Anses…). Inf’OGM est toujours adhérente du réseau européen d’informations sur les OGM, GENET. L’association a également un partenariat avec le réseau Biocoop.

Objectifs

Inf’OGM se donne l’objectif d’œuvrer pour une véritable transparence du débat OGM.

L’association a pour objet :

  • de synthétiser, vérifier, clarifier, contextualiser, traduire en français et diffuser toute l’actualité pertinente liée aux OGM, et ce dans un esprit de « service au public » ;

  • de donner aux différentes mouvances citoyennes de résistance, d’interrogation, de doute qui traversent la société au sujet des OGM, les éléments fondateurs d’un véritable dialogue social, en insistant notamment sur la dimension du choix technologique qui s’offre aux citoyens ;

  • de pousser les pouvoirs publics à une véritable transparence de l’information, et à la mise en place d’un service public efficace et fiable d’informations sur les OGM.

Thèmes de travail

  • agriculture et alimentation
  • environnement
  • information
  • citoyenneté