Association de veille et d’information civique sur les enjeux des nanosciences et des nanotechnologies (Avicenn)

Identity card

Avicenn was created in 2010 as a result of the development of nanosciences and nanotechnologies (NST). It is a response to civil society’s call for independent, transversal, understandable and pluralistic information on nanosciences and nanotechnologies (NST). The association provides current news, dossiers, newsletters and information flows to increase understanding of the challenges and controversies associated with nanotechnologies. Avicenn carries out projects in all regions of France, and also participates in a number of national and European working groups to bring the ideas and concerns of civil society to the attention of decision-makers.

More than 15 organisations are associate members of Avicenn, and were given a deliberative voice in 2018. These include Acting for the environment, Citizen Sciences, Générations Futures, the French consumers’ association UFC Que Choisir, Réseau Environnement Santé (Health and the environment network), Centre Médical Interentreprises Europe, INERIS (French national institute for industrial environment and risks), ZeroWaste.

Avicenn focuses its efforts on several major fields: French and European legislation; wastes; agriculture; the food supply and water.

Avicenn also contributes to cooperative efforts between citizen watchdog groups (Inf’OGM, ApE, Générations Cobayes, etc.)

The association guides the action of public authorities, can argue for or against pending legislation, has re-energised NGOs in France and, through its dialogue with NGOs abroad, helps keep the international network watchful. These alerts and articles are diffused through French-speaking networks in Africa and Canada.

Avicenn recently signed an agreement with the AFB (Agence française pour la biodiversité - French Biodiversity Agency) for 2018, to provide information to scientists and actors in the field of water and prevent the risk of nanoparticle leakage into aquatic environments.

In addition to its own website, Avicenn funnels information to the veillenanos.fr website.

Objectives

Avicenn’s objective is to:

  • set up citizen monitoring that is pluralistic and open to people in civil society concerned by the growth of NST

  • promote and strengthen the capacity of civil society and citizens to understand the social issues raised by NST (environment, health, work, civil liberties, etc.) and to participate in debate in an enlightened way wherever decisions on NST are made. Its action is based on monitoring events, diffusing information and high-priority support for civil society organisations involved in counter-lobbying efforts.

  • compile current scientific, regulatory and institutional information on nanos;

  • analyse and decode guidelines and policies being studied, and the positions and arguments of various actors, throughout the lifecycles of nano-objects and in the context of scientific uncertainties;

  • alert the public to the the impact of nanotechnologies on health and the environment, as well as ethical considerations

  • be a ‘resource point’ for civil society

  • strengthen civil society’s participation in decision-making in the nanotechnologies field

  • encourage all actors involved (administrations, elected officials, companies, unions, citizens’ associations and groups) to be collectively watchful.

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • training
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information
  • development of teaching material

Thematic areas

  • research and technological innovation
  • information
  • responsibility
  • research and social innovation

Association de veille et d’information civique sur les enjeux des nanosciences et des nanotechnologies (Avicenn)

Carte d’identité

Le développement des nanosciences et des nanotechnologies (NST) a conduit à créer l’Avicenn en 2010. L’Avicenn répond à la demande exprimée par la société civile d’une information indépendante, transversale, lisible et pluraliste sur les nanosiences et nanotechnologies (NST). L’association propose des articles d’actualités, dossiers, lettres périodiques et flux d’informations afin de favoriser la compréhension des enjeux et des controverses liées aux nanotechnologies. Elle réalise des interventions dans les régions françaises et participe à plusieurs groupes de travail nationaux et européens pour faire entendre les messages de la société civile dans la fabrique des décisions.

Plus de 15 organisations adhèrent à Avicenn en tant que membres associés (munis, en 2018, d’une voix délibérative), notamment Agir pour l’environnement, Sciences Citoyennes, Générations Futures, UFC Que Choisir, Réseau Environnement Santé, Centre Médical Interentreprises Europe, INERIS, ZeroWaste.

L’Avicenn focalise son travail sur plusieurs grands champs : la réglementation française et européenne; les déchets; l’agriculture; l’alimentation et l’eau.

L’Avicenn participe également à l’entraide entre veilles citoyennes (Inf’OGM, ApE, Générations Cobayes, etc.)

L’association a un rôle d’aiguillon des pouvoirs publics, peut porter des plaidoyers argumentés en amont des réglementations, a remobilisé des ONG en France et contribue par son dialogue avec les ONG hors de France à maintenir le réseau international en vigilance. Ces alertes et articles sont diffusées dans des réseaux francophones en Afrique ou au Canada.

Récemment, l’Avicenn a signé une convention avec l’Agence française pour la biodiversité (AFB) pour 2018 afin d’informer des chercheurs et des d’acteurs de l’eau, pour la prévention des risques de fuites de nanoparticules vers les milieux aquatiques.

L’Avicenn nourit, en dehors du site de l’association, le site web veillenanos.fr.

Objectifs

L’Avicenn a pour objectif de :

  • bâtir une veille d’information citoyenne, pluraliste, ouverte aux personnes de la société civile concernées par l’essor des NST

  • promouvoir et renforcer la capacité de la société civile et des citoyens de s’approprier les enjeux sociaux (environnement, santé, travail, libertés individuelles, etc.) que les NST soulèvent et de participer de manière éclairée aux débats dans tous lieux où se fabriquent les décisions sur les NST. Le socle de l’action est la veille, la diffusion d’information et l’accompagnement prioritaire des organisations de la société civile pour un contre-lobbying.

  • compiler les actualités scientifiques, réglementaires et institutionnelles concernant les nanos;

  • analyser et décrypter les orientations et décisions politiques à l’étude, des positions et arguments des différents acteurs tout au long du cycle de vie des nano-objets en contexte d’incertitudes scientifiques;

  • alerter sur les impacts sanitaires, environnementaux & éthiques des nanotechnologies

  • être un « pôle ressources » pour la société civile

  • renforcer la participation de la société civile dans la fabrique des décisions dans le champ nano

  • favoriser le développement d’une vigilance collective par l’ensemble des acteurs concernés (administrations, élus, entreprises, syndicats, associations et collectifs de citoyens)

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • formation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information
  • élaboration de matériel pédagogique

Thèmes de travail

  • recherche et innovation technologique
  • information
  • responsabilité
  • recherche et innovation sociale