StopOGM - Alliance suisse pour une agriculture sans génie génétique

Identity card

StopOGM became an association under Swiss law (articles 60 and following of the Swiss Civil Code) in 1998. It is part of the Swiss working group on genetic engineering based in Zurich.

StopOGM is the structure that coordinates organisations based in French-speaking areas of Switzerland. The association is part of a national and international network of organisations that look critically at the development of agriculture and food. StopOGM critically and independently analyses the development and impact of genetic engineering on agriculture, animal-raising, the environment and health. This work is financed entirely by membership fees and donations.

Thanks to Switzerland’s direct democracy, the association was able to participate in referendum campaigns, providing the public with a wealth of information. The association is now an actor in the debate, and an important, recognised leader on the issue of genetic engineering in French-speaking Switzerland.

StopOGM is at the origin of the Swiss moratorium in effect since 2005. The association is working actively on the political level to keep it in place (until 2021). On the scientific level, the association is committed to greater objectivity in the presentation of the issue and works toward this goal with the Swiss academy of natural sciences in particular. With regard to the public and the media, we provide good critical information.

Since the beginning of 2018, StopOGM has been implementing an information campaign on new genetic engineering techniques, and along with partner organisations has lobbied to make these techniques subject to the Law on genetic engineering.

In 2017, StopOGM had numerous individual members (approximately 1500) and more than 20 member organisations from Swiss civil society.

Objectives

StopOGM acts to achieve the following goals:

• Protect human health and the dignity of living beings

• Defend consumers’ freedom of choice

• Support agriculture capable of guaranteeing the sovereignty and food security of populations

• Promote scientific research that supports small- and medium-scale farmers by developing techniques and varieties suitable for use in agro-ecology.

Modes of action

  • mobilization, rally
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Thematic areas

  • agriculture and food
  • environment
  • research and technological innovation
  • information

StopOGM - Alliance suisse pour une agriculture sans génie génétique

Carte d’identité

StopOGM s’est constitué en 1998 en association au sens des articles 60 et ss du Code civil suisse et fait partie du Groupe suisse de travail sur le génie génétique (SAG), basé à Zürich.

StopOGM est la structure de coordination d’organisations basées en Suisse romande. L’association s’inscrit dans un réseau national et international d’organisations portant toutes un regard critique sur le développement de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation, en particulier. StopOGM réalise un travail critique et indépendant sur le développement et les impacts du génie génétique sur l’agriculture, l’élevage, l’environnement et la santé. Ce travail est entièrement financé par les cotisations des membres et les dons.

L’association a su utiliser la démocratie directe suisse pour participer à l’animation des campagnes référendaires avec une forte dimension d’information du public. L’association est aujourd’hui un acteur et un interlocuteur important et reconnu sur la question du génie génétique en Suisse romande.

StopOGM est à l’origine du moratoire Suisse qui court depuis 2005. L’association travaille activement au niveau politique pour son maintient (jusqu’en 2021). Au niveau scientifique, elle s’engage pour une meilleure objectivité dans la présentation du sujet, en particulier avec l’Académie suisse des siences naturelles. Au niveau public et médiatique, nous dispensons de l’information critique de qualité.

Depuis début 2018, StopOGM a lancé une campagne d’information sur les nouvelles techniques de modifications génétiques et un travail de lobbying, avec les organisations partenaires, pour que ces techniques soient assujetties à la Loi sur le génie génétique.

StopOGM compte en 2017 de nombreux membres individuels (environ 1500) ainsi que plus de 20 organisations de la société civile suisse.

Objectifs

StopOGM agit en visant les buts suivants :

• La protection de la santé humaine et de la dignité de la créature

• La défense de la liberté de choix des consommatrices et des consommateurs

• Le soutien d’une agriculture capable d’assurer la souveraineté et la sécurité alimentaires des populations

• La promotion d’une recherche scientifique qui appuie les petits et moyens agriculteurs dans le développement de techniques et de variétés utilisables au sein de pratiques agro-écologiques.

Modes d’action

  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Thèmes de travail

  • agriculture et alimentation
  • environnement
  • recherche et innovation technologique
  • information