Autour du 1er mai

Identity card

Since 1895 when cinema began, numerous documentaries and fictional films have born witness to movements and changes in society, and they have done so in very diverse ways. The cinema is both a witness of History and the material of which it is made. Like the written word, it is part of the way the world is represented. It uses a language—the language of images and sound—that depicts and also influences these movements.

How can this cultural heritage be better disseminated, how can it be allowed to nourish the many interrogations we have about difficult changes now in progress? How can it be made available to all?

These interrogations were at the heart of the creation, in 2005, of the Autour du 1er mai association, whose goals are to share cinema in its multiple and diverse forms, help find and choose films, construct a programme and lead debate in the spirit of the ‘film clubs’ created to educate the public at large. May 1 (Labour Day) has great significance for millions of people around the world; the association that bears the same name stands with all those who, like the surrealists or the protesters of the 1960’s, wish to “change the world, change life”.

Objectives

The Autour du 1er mai association aims to promote the use of cinema in the service of social transformation and the transition—to bear witness to the change and also to serve as a tool.

This challenge can be broken down into several objectives:

  • identify, list and organise films in thematic areas dear to us: transition, ecology, social movements, world of work, exercising democracy, citizen media, human rights… so that everyone can find these films easily.

  • help structures in civil society use cinema to support pleas and widen audiences by assisting them in finding films and setting up programming, constructing a thematic filmography, etc.

  • organise film projections-public meetings in the presence of experts in the issues addressed, so that the film is considered a tool for understanding and analysis, just like other types of documents or studies.

  • coordinate training in image analysis, for specific groups, on a precise subject.

  • create social ties around the cinema, in the tradition of film clubs.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • training
  • networking of actors
  • documentaries, films, videos, animated films
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Target audience

  • activists, campaigners
  • associations
  • local authorities
  • teachers, education professions
  • general public
  • organised civil society
  • students

Thematic areas

  • education
  • agriculture and food
  • environment
  • Climate energy
  • migration
  • peace
  • democracy
  • citizenship
  • culture
  • woman & gender
  • commons

Autour du 1er mai

Carte d’identité

Depuis les débuts du cinéma en 1895, de nombreux films, documentaires ou fictions, ont témoigné de façon très diverse, des mouvements et transformations de la société. Le cinéma est à la fois témoin et matériau d’Histoire. Il participe, comme l’écrit, à des modes de représentations du monde. Il utilise un langage, celui de l’image et du son, qui tour à tour reflète et influence ces mouvements.

Comment faire connaître ce patrimoine culturel, comment lui permettre de nourrir nos interrogations multiples face aux difficiles changements actuels, comment le mettre à disposition de tous ?

C’est autour des ces questionnements que s’est constituée, en 2005, l’association Autour du 1er mai, pour partager le cinéma dans sa multiplicité, la diversité de ses formes, et aider à trouver des films, à les choisir, à bâtir une programmation, à animer un débat, dans la tradition des ciné-clubs, nés de l’éducation populaire. À l’image de ce que représente le 1er mai pour des millions de gens sur cette terre, l’association rejoint tous ceux qui désirent « changer le monde, changer la vie » comme disaient les surréalistes, ou les manifestants en mai 1968…

Objectifs

L’association Autour du 1er mai vise à promouvoir le cinéma comme témoin et outil de transformation sociale, et appui pour la transition.

Cet enjeu décline en plusieurs objectifs :

  • faire une veille thématique, repérer, recenser et organiser le classement de films autour de thématiques qui nous sont chères : transition, écologie, mouvements sociaux, monde du travail, exercice de la démocratie, médias citoyens, droits humains… afin que chacun puisse trouver facilement ces films.

  • aider les structures de la société civile à se saisir du cinéma pour appuyer leurs plaidoyers et élargir leurs cercles d’audience, en les aidant à trouver des films et bâtir une programmation, construire une filmographie thématique…

  • organiser des projections-rencontres, en présence de spécialistes des questions soulevées dans les films, afin de considérer le film comme outil de compréhension et d’analyse, au même titre que d’autres types de documents ou d’études.

  • coordonner des temps de formation à la lecture des images, pour des groupes constitués, autour d’un sujet précis.

  • créer du lien social autour du cinéma, dans la tradition des ciné-clubs.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • documentaires, films, vidéos, animations
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Publics cibles

  • activistes, militants
  • associations
  • collectivités territoriales
  • enseignants, monde de l’éducation
  • grand public
  • société civile organisée
  • étudiants

Thèmes de travail

  • éducation
  • agriculture et alimentation
  • environnement
  • climat énergie
  • migration
  • paix
  • démocratie
  • citoyenneté
  • culture
  • femme et genre
  • communs