Alliance internationale de journalistes (AIJ)

Identity card

The International Alliance of Journalists encourages exchanges of information and debate across the world, in view of developing joint intelligence and collective power to weigh on journalistic practices, the impact of which is now clear to all. The objective of this alliance of journalists, which is based on a convergence of professional and human values, is not to replace the existing dominant model with a single new model. Rather, the alliance hopes to guarantee the variety and diversity of responsible approaches with roots in various countries, cultures and media economies. This informal network is simply a ‘facilitator’ not intended to replace professional organisations. It has no mandate and no desire to represent journalists. It identifies concrete initiatives and theoretical developments, while also working toward a fair and equal information process that can be developed and transposed everywhere.

The approach is ongoing and the alliance is open to all who wish to become actors in the process.

Objectives

The purpose of the association is to provide professionals in the field of information with a space in which those concerned about the quality of information can pool ideas, experience and concrete proposals for reforming journalistic practices. The ultimate goal is to contribute to indepth reflection on mindsets, and build journalism around the notion of ‘responsibility’.

For some years now the International Alliance of Journalists has been developing Mediaeducation.fr, a platform it created to unite actors in the field of education in information and freedom of expression.

The Alliance also hopes to further and support work on new practices in journalism and new means of transmitting the profession.

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • books, reviews publishing
  • training
  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy

Thematic areas

  • governance
  • education
  • information
  • ethics
  • responsibility

Alliance internationale de journalistes (AIJ)

Carte d’identité

L’Alliance internationale de journalistes favorise l’échange et le débat à travers le monde avec l’ambition de créer de l’intelligence commune et du pouvoir collectif pour peser sur les pratiques journalistiques dont personne ne peut plus ignorer l’impact. Fondée sur la convergence des valeurs professionnelles et humaines, l’objectif de l’alliance de journalistes n’est pas de promouvoir un nouveau modèle de presse unique face au modèle dominant mais bien de garantir la variété et la diversité des approches responsables en fonction des pays, des cultures, de l’économie des médias. Ce réseau informel est bien un « facilitateur » qui n’entend pas se substituer aux instances professionnelles. Il n’a aucun mandat ni volonté représentatifs. Tout en repérant les initiatives concrètes et les avancées théoriques, il travaille à l’élaboration d’un processus d’information juste et équitable qui puisse être développé et transposé en tout lieu.

La démarche s’inscrit dans la durée, l’alliance est ouverte à tous ceux qui souhaitent en devenir les acteurs.

Objectifs

L’objet de l’association consiste à offrir aux professionnels de l’information, un espace et une dynamique pour que les acteurs concernés par la qualité de l’information puissent mettre en commun leurs pistes de réflexion, leurs expériences, leurs propositions concrètes pour réformer les pratiques journalistiques. Il s’agit de contribuer à une réflexion profonde des manières de penser et de construire le journalisme autour de la notion de «responsabilité».

Depuis quelques années l’Alliance internationale de journalistes développe sa création de plateforme Mediaeducation.fr qui fédère les acteurs de l’éducation à l’information et à la liberté d’expression.

L’alliance a aussi pour objet d’approfondir et de soutenir des travaux sur les nouvelles pratiques d’exercice du journalisme et les nouveaux modes de transmission du métier.

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • formation
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence

Thèmes de travail

  • gouvernance
  • éducation
  • information
  • éthique
  • responsabilité