Amicus Curiae

Identity card

Founded in 2015 as an international association under Belgian law, Amicus Curiae and its coordination team based in Paris has as a mission to organize and mobilize experts and institutions from different countries around the following three platforms:

  • AMICUS INFO, an information agency aimed at enquiring into and understanding the state of the world.

  • AMICUS RADIO, a catalog of podcasts to transmit societal debates and make the content available to the public.

  • AMICUS LABO, a laboratory to stimulate ideas and support the initiatives of its members.

Like Amicus Curiae – where external actors and experts provide information and observations to enlighten judicial decision-making – we consider the law to be everyone’s concern, and justice a common good of humanity. We consider that law and justice merit participation in these debates: to demand an understanding of their arguments and with the ambition of being heard.

Objectives

Amicus Curiae is a European initiative aimed at encouraging and facilitating the production of knowledge and ideas of law and justice. With the objective of ensuring the diffusion of this knowledge to the wider public through on-line productions and a continuous dialogue with its partners, Amicus Curiae renews our understanding of the legal field and enables us to grasp its current issues, whether one is a legal professional or a citizen. Our ambition is to understand better the transformations underway, and to draw nearer what is legal and what is just.

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information
  • books, reviews publishing
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • research, analysis

Thematic areas

  • governance
  • law and justice
  • responsibility
  • democracy
  • culture

Amicus Curiae

Carte d’identité

Fondé en 2015 sous la forme d’une association internationale de droit belge, Amicus Curiae se consacre à un travail d’information, d’étude et d’analyse sur la mondialisation du droit, et à la co-production de stratégies juridiques avec des acteurs engagés dans la défense de l’intérêt général. Amicus Curiae regroupe experts et institutions de différents pays autour d’une équipe d’animation basée à Paris dont la mission est d’en organiser la mobilisation pour développer :

  • AMICUS INFO, une agence d’information pour connaître et comprendre l’état du monde.

  • AMICUS RADIO, un catalogue de podcasts pour relayer les débats sociétaux et en restituer les contenus.

  • AMICUS LABO, un laboratoire de projets pour stimuler les idées et accompagner les initiatives de ses membres.

Comme les Amicus Curiae - ces intervenants extérieurs à une affaire chargés d’apporter des informations et des observation afin d’éclairer le juge dans sa décision - l’association considère que le droit est l’affaire de tous et la justice un bien commun de l’humanité. C’est pourquoi ces domaines méritent que l’on s’invite dans leurs débats : pour exiger d’en comprendre les arguments et avec l’ambition de s’y faire entendre.

Objectifs

Amicus Curiae est une initiative européenne tournée vers le monde qui vise à encourager et faciliter la production des connaissances et des idées sur le droit et toutes les formes de justice. Avec le souci particulier d’en assurer la diffusion auprès d’un large public à travers ses productions en ligne et un dialogue continu avec ses partenaires, Amicus Curiae renouvelle notre perception et notre compréhension du champ juridique pour une meilleure appropriation de ses enjeux, que l’on soit professionnel ou citoyen. Notre ambition est donc de mieux comprendre les transformations en cours, pour chercher à rapprocher ce qui est légal de ce qui est juste.

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • recherche, analyse

Thèmes de travail

  • gouvernance
  • droit
  • responsabilité
  • démocratie
  • culture