Sherpa

Identity card

Sherpa, founded in 2001, has set its mission to protect and defend victims of economic crimes drawing on the power of the law and to fight against the new forms of impunity linked to globalization. Our vision is to help build a world where law is in service of a more mindful globalization.

Economic criminality covers two main forms materializing in two programs at Sherpa: the Globalization and Human Rights Program and the Illicit Financial Flows Program. To implement them, Sherpa brings together an expert team of lawyers, using legal tools, strategies and advocacy, along with pro bono representation from committed international jurists, lawyers, and specialists

Our groundbreaking work has resulted in legal remedies being delivered to victims of corporate-related human rights abuse, changes in law and policy that have helped reshape global business as well as defense of civil society actors and their work from corporate reprisal.

Objectives

  • To pursue the establishment of a binding legal framework to make economic actors, and transnational companies in particular violating human rights and causing environmental damages, accountable for their impacts.

  • To fight against the illicit financial flows and tackles issues such as corruption, money laundering or tax evasion. Sherpa works in particular on ill-gotten gains, tax havens and transparency in the extractive industries. Emerging countries lose at least a thousand billion dollars every year through illicit financial flows whether it is from corruption or tax evasion by multinationals. These flows are a major challenge to development since they reduce the resources available for essential public services such as education or health, and aggravate the burden of debt in emerging countries.

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • legal action
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information
  • media actions: pamphlet, opinion paper, campaign

Thematic areas

  • law and justice
  • economy
  • ethics
  • responsibility
  • governance
  • Climate energy
  • environment

Sherpa

Carte d’identité

Sherpa, association loi 1901 créée en 2001, a pour mission de combattre les nouvelles formes d’impunité liées à la mondialisation des échanges économiques et financiers et de défendre les communautés victimes de crimes économiques. Sherpa oeuvre pour construire un monde où le droit est au service d’une économie juste.

La criminalité économique recouvre deux formes principales, chacune faisant l’objet d’un programme spécifique au sein de Sherpa ; le programme « Globalisation et droits humains », et le programme « Flux financier Illicite ». Pour les mettre en œuvre, Sherpa réunit une équipe d’avocats et de juristes experts ainsi que de nombreux experts et professionnels qui appuient son action pro bono.

Sherpa a déjà obtenu la mise en place de mécanisme de réparation pour des communautés victimes de crimes économiques, des reconnaissances de culpabilité pour des crimes économiques graves à l’égard de multinationales et de dirigeants, et des avancées législatives et politiques qui ont un impact concret sur la définition de l’économie mondialisée.

Objectifs

  • Œuvrer pour la mise en place d’un cadre juridique contraignant qui appréhende les activités économiques sur toute la chaine de production pour responsabiliser les acteurs économiques et notamment les maisons mères et les entreprises donneuses d’ordres des multinationales qui violent les droits humains et provoquent des dommages environnementaux.

  • Lutter contre les flux financiers illicites ; corruption, blanchiment, évasion fiscale. Sherpa travaille notamment sur les biens mal acquis, la lutte contre les paradis fiscaux et la transparence dans les industries extractives. Qu’il s’agisse de l’argent de la corruption ou de l’évasion fiscale des multinationales, les flux financiers illicites constituent un enjeu majeur de développement pour les pays émergents qui perdent au moins mille milliards de dollars chaque année. Ils réduisent les ressources disponibles pour les services publics essentiels et aggravent le poids de la dette des États, particulièrement des pays du Sud.

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • action juridique
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information
  • action médiatique : tribune, papier d’opinion, campagne

Thèmes de travail

  • droit
  • économie
  • éthique
  • responsabilité
  • gouvernance
  • climat énergie
  • environnement