Euro-ISME

Identity card

The European chapter of the International Society for Military Ethics (ISME) has been created in 2010 with the aim to establish a European forum for the discussion and exchange of ideas on professional responsibility and military ethics, and to promote comprehensive and systematic analysis in the field of

military ethics and of the law of armed conflict in accordance with the principles of humanitarian law and human rights. » Euro-ISME is not affiliated with any international organisation or with any ideological view; it is politically neutral. It is a non-profit organisation under French law (association loi 1901). Since 2010, Euro-ISME has annually organised “International Conferences” which are now widely recognised as a forum attracting experts from all over the world. The meetings are regularly hosted by renown insitutions having an important impact on European security and defence policy. Cooperations exist with stakeholders of military ethics and of civil society - military dialogue in other parts of the world, i.e. West Africa, Latin America, Asia-Pacific including Australia.

Individual members are researchers, academics, practionners of military ethics education, and active or retired military personal with an intercultural and transdisciplinary approach. EURO-Isme welcomes a growing number of institutional members (academic, government and religious bodies) and facilitates a collaborative work between them.

Objectives

Euro-ISME aims to:

  • establish a European forum for discussion and exchange of ideas on professional responsibility and military ethics;

  • promote comprehensive and systematic analysis in the field of military ethics and of the law of armed conflict in accordance with the principles of human rights;

  • initiate research on the ethical traditions in Europe and worldwide as well as on behavioural norms that guide and limit the conduct of military;

  • enhance the quality of ethics education in European armed forces and the armed forces of partner countries who require advice;

  • support educational institutions and military command in analysis and topical studies on the behaviour in the operations and their impact on military ethics;

  • promote the harmonization of ethical principles and standards of conduct in relation to the creation of a shared culture of responsibility and ethical thinking;

  • disclose knowledge about this culture to other continents via a global network of regional Societies for Military Ethics.

Related programmes

Modes of action

  • expertise
  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • research, analysis
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Thematic areas

  • law and justice
  • governance
  • ethics
  • peace
  • democracy

Euro-ISME

Carte d’identité

La Société Internationale d’Éthique Militaire en Europe (Euro-ISME) a été créée en 2010 comme « forum européen de discussion et d’échange d’idées sur la responsabilité professionnelle et sur l’éthique militaire ainsi que pour promouvoir une analyse globale et systématique de l’éthique militaire et de la législation des conflits armés dans le respect des principes de droits humains ». Euro-ISME est une association apolitique, indépendante à but non lucratif de loi française (association 1901 depuis 2012). Depuis 2010, elle organise des conférences annuelles, ayant lieu dans différents pays européens, désormais établies comme évènement remarqué dans le secteur d’éthique militaire en Europe et ailleurs. Des coopérations avec des acteurs d’éthique militaire et de dialogue civilo-militaire dans d’autres régions du monde existent, notamment en Afrique de l’Ouest, en Amérique latine et en Asie-Pacifique, y compris l’Australie.

Ses membres individuels sont des chercheurs, des enseignants académiciens et des praticiens de l’éducation dans le domaine de l’éthique militaire et des militaires actifs ou retraités avec un objectif interculturel et transdisciplinaire. Elle accueille également un nombre croissant de membres institutionnels (instances universitaires, gouvernementaux, religieux etc), et promeut un travail collaboratif entre eux.

Objectifs

Les objectifs de l’association :

  • créer un forum européen de discussion et d’échanges sur la responsabilité professionnelle et l’éthique militaire ;

  • promouvoir des analyses exhaustives et systématiques de l’éthique militaire et du Droit des conflits armés, en accord avec les principes des Droits de l’Homme ;

  • initier une recherche sur les traditions éthiques en Europe et dans le Monde, ainsi que sur les normes qui guident et limitent l’action militaire ;

  • renforcer la qualité de l’éducation éthique dans les forces armées européennes et dans les pays partenaires qui leur demandent conseil ;

  • soutenir les établissements d’enseignement et les commandements militaires, en matière d’analyses et d’études d’actualité sur les comportements pendant les opérations, avec leur impact sur l’éthique militaire ;

  • promouvoir l’harmonisation des principes éthiques et des standards de conduite, dans le cadre de la création d’une culture de responsabilité et de réflexion éthique ;

  • diffuser les résultats de recherche et la connaissance de cette culture vers les autres continents, via un réseau mondial de Sociétés régionales d’éthique militaire.

Programmes en lien

Modes d’action

  • production d’expertise
  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • recherche, analyse
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Thèmes de travail

  • droit
  • gouvernance
  • éthique
  • paix
  • démocratie