UrbaMonde

Identity card

Initially founded in May 2005 in Geneva and christened ‘Urbanistes Sans Frontières – international’, UrbaMonde addresses the problems of post-catastrophe reconstruction. From the outset, the NGO developed the ‘urbanitaire’ concept: urban planning applied to humanitarian situations. In the first 5 years of its existence, the association moved progressively away from its humanitarian focus to address risk prevention and improve the conditions of ‘city life’ for vulnerable populations through a transversal, territorial approach.

UrbaMonde now develops activities to support organised groups of inhabitants in both the north (inhabitants’ cooperatives in Switzerland and France) and the south (technical support organisations, inhabitants’ organisations and cooperatives in Latin America, Africa and Asia). The association also coordinates a global platform for the exchange of experiences and documentation to strengthen advocacy for the creation of mechanisms and frameworks (in the areas of finance, land ownership and technical support) to support the ‘Social Production of Habitat’ initiative. psh.urbamonde.org. FPH has supported this dimension of the association’s activity since 2015.

Objectives

UrbaMonde believes inhabitants and end users of urban space should be at the centre of processes that produce the city, so UrbaMonde supports a city “by and for inhabitants”. In addition to the support we provide to habitat projects steered by local communities, our objective is to create and consolidate ‘public-civil partnerships’ for sustainable and more inclusive urban development.

Modes of action

  • networking of actors
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies
  • diffusion of best pratices creation of labels
  • case studies, models and simulations

Thematic areas

  • local territory management
  • tools & methods
  • information
  • citizenship

UrbaMonde

Carte d’identité

Fondée sous le nom initial d’ «Urbanistes Sans Frontières – international» en mai 2005 à Genève, UrbaMonde trouve son origine dans les problématiques de reconstruction post-­catastrophe. A sa fondation, l’ONG développa le concept d’ « urbanitaire » : l’urbanisme appliqué à des situations humanitaires. Au cours de ses 5 premières années d’activités, l’association s’est progressivement détachée de son focus humanitaire pour s’orienter vers la prévention des risques et l’amélioration des « conditions de ville » pour les populations vulnérables par une approche territoriale transversale.

Aujourd’hui, UrbaMonde développe, d’une part, des activités d’accompagnement à des collectifs d’habitants organisés tant au nord (coopératives d’habitants en Suisse et en France) qu’au sud (organisations de support technique, organisations d’habitants et coopératives en Amérique Latine, en Afrique et en Asie). D’autre part, UrbaMonde anime une plateforme globale d’échanges d’expériences et de documentation visant à renforcer le plaidoyer pour l’émergence de mécanismes d’entraide et de conditions cadre (finances, foncier, accompagnement technique) favorables à la « Production sociale de l’Habitat », psh.urbamonde.org. C’est cette dimension de l’activité de l’association qui est soutenue par la FPH depuis 2015.

Objectifs

Convaincue que les habitants et usagers finaux de l’espace urbain devraient être au coeur des processus qui produisent la ville, la mission d’UrbaMonde est de soutenir une ville « par et pour les habitants ». En complément du soutien que nous apportons à des projets d’habitat pilotés par des communautés locales, notre objectif est de faire émerger et de consolider des ‘partenariats public-civils’ pour un développement urbain plus durable et inclusif.

Modes d’action

  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées
  • diffusion de bonnes pratiques, création de labels
  • études de cas, modèles et simulations

Thèmes de travail

  • gestion des territoires
  • outils et méthodes
  • information
  • citoyenneté