Coalition Européenne d’Action pour le droit à la ville et le droit au logement (CEA)

Identity card

The EAC (European Action Coalition for the Right to Housing and the City), created in 2014, is the fruit of regular meetings between various groups of city dwellers concerned by the effects of financial speculation in real estate. Initial meetings (Naples 2012, Paris 2013, Nice 2014 and London 2014) were devoted to federating movements around definitions and campaigns pertinent on the scale of their shared geographic and sociopolitical space, i.e., Europe.

Today, after 4 years of organisation and action, the EAC includes 29 movement from 20 countries, and it continues to grow. Its active members constitute a panel of organised inhabitants with diverse profiles: renters’ groups, former owners whose property has been taken away, groups of people who have been evicted, who are without housing or who have taken over abandoned buildings in urban, peri-urban or rural zones.

The EAC is particularly interested in developing forms of organisation that enable democratic and inclusive coordination at the European level for grassroots movements set up in extremely divers linguistic, cultural and political contexts: Mediterranean and Atlantic countries, former Soviet block countries, Scandinavian countries, French-speaking countries, etc. This diversity is the main strength of the EAC, but also its main challenge. With this in mind, the network—still under construction—is being organised horizontally and transparently around a common denominator: the need to provide decent housing for all in cities conceived of as shared spaces.

The coalition’s governance is based on a monthly meeting of all members (via internet). Each member of the coalition has a vote and a right to veto texts diffused in the name of the Coalition. All members of the coalition are consulted and a majority must approve the annual budget and any budget adjustments that may be made later.

In 2018, leadership of the coalition was shared between three persons from the following movements: Habita! (Lisbon, Portugal), Common Front for the Right to Housing (Bucharest, Romania) and Stop Auctions (Athens, Greece), which handle administrative aspects of the network. Administrative and financial management of the coalition is provided by the secretariat with support from the French association Les Amis de No-Vox, which signed the Agreement with FPH. This association provides a mailing address and manages the network’s bank account.

Four working groups (Research - Communication - Toolbox - Logistics) function independently. They put their theoretical and practical work at the disposal of all members.

Objectives

The European Action Coalition for the Right to Housing and the City strives for the recognition, defence and actual application of these rights, which are today threatened or weakened in many countries by the enactment of austerity policies. All the groups and movements are involved in a day-to-day fight against expulsions and for decent and affordable lodging for all, to provide migrants and refugees with decent lodgings while respecting their mobile or ephemeral settlement patterns.

Together we share a vision of cities where transformations, public services and spaces, transportation, the supply of water and energy, and food distribution systems are all managed in a way that respects shared resources that are produced, transformed and managed for and by all. We want a kind of development that meets the real social and environmental needs of people who live in cities, on their outskirts or in rural areas.

Modes of action

  • networking of actors
  • mobilization, rally
  • advocacy, lobbying, influence strategy
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information
  • meetings, exchanges, assemblies

Thematic areas

  • local territory management
  • migration
  • research and social innovation
  • commons
  • governance

Coalition Européenne d’Action pour le droit à la ville et le droit au logement (CEA)

Carte d’identité

La création, en 2014, de la Coalition Européenne d’Action pour le Droit à la ville et le Droit au logement (CEA) est le fruit de rencontres ponctuelles entres divers groupes d’habitants des villes porteurs de revendications et de propositions face aux effets de la financiarisation immobilière. Ces rencontres initiales (Naples 2012, Paris 2013, Nice 2014 et Londres 2014) ont permis de fédérer des mouvements autour de définitions et de campagnes pertinentes à l’échelle de leur espace géographique et sociopolitique commun: l’espace européen.

Après 4 ans d’organisation et d’action, la CEA regroupe 29 mouvements issus de 20 pays et ne cesse de croître. Ses membres actifs représentent un panel d’habitantEs organiséEs aux profils divers : collectifs de locataires, propriétaires hypothéqués et spoliés de leurs biens, collectifs de personnes expulsées, sans logis, ou occupant des logements, en zones urbaines, péri-urbaines et rurales.

La CEA porte une attention toute particulière au développement de formes organisationnelles permettant une coordination démocratique et inclusive à l’échelle européenne pour des mouvements de base, constitués dans des contextes linguistiques, culturels et politiques extrêmement variés : pays méditerranéens et atlantiques, pays de l’ancien bloc communiste, pays scandinaves, francophonie… Cette diversité d’ancrages constitue la principale force, mais également le principal défi de la CEA. Dans cette perspective, le réseau, toujours en cours de construction, s’organise de façon horizontale et transparente autour des dénominateurs communs, que constituent la nécessité pour tous de garantir un habitat digne dans des villes conçues comme des espaces partagés.

La gouvernance de la coalition est basée sur une réunion mensuelle (via Internet) avec tous les membres. Chaque collectif membre de la coalition dispose d’une voix et d’un droit de véto sur les textes diffusés au nom de la Coalition. Tous les membres de la coalition sont consultés et leur approbation majoritaire est requise pour l’élaboration du budget annuel et des ajustements qui peuvent avoir lieu à postériori.

L’animation de la coalition est, en 2018, partagée entre trois personnes issues des mouvements : Habita! (Lisbonne, Portugal), Le Front Commun pour le Droit au Logement (Bucarest, Roumanie) et Stop Auctions (Athènes, Gréce), qui constituent le secrétariat administratif du réseau. La gestion administrative et financière de la coalition est assurée par le secrétariat, avec l’appui de l’association française Les Amis de Novox (signataire de la Convention avec la FPH) qui héberge la boîte postale et le compte en banque du réseau.

Quatre groupes de travail (Recherche – Communication – Boîte à Outils –Logistique) fonctionnent de manière autonome. Ils mettent à disposition de tous les membres, leurs travaux et propositions théoriques et pratiques.

Objectifs

La Coalition Européenne d’Action pour le droit à la ville et le droit au logement œuvre pour la reconnaissance, la défense et l’application effective de ces droits, aujourd’hui remis en cause ou fragilisés dans de nombreux pays par la mise en œuvre de politiques austéritaires. Tous les groupes, collectifs ou mouvement luttent quotidiennement contre les expulsions locatives, pour un logement décent et abordable pour toutes et tous, pour l’accueil des migrants et réfugiés dans des conditions de logements, d’hébergements dignes, le respect des modes d’habitat mobiles ou éphémères et de leurs habitant-e-s .

Ensemble, nous partageons une conception des villes où les transformations, les services publics, les espaces publics, les transports, la fourniture d’eau et d’énergie, les systèmes de distributions alimentaires sont gérées dans le respect des ressources communes, produites, transformées et gérées par tous pour tous (tes). Nous voulons un développement qui réponde aux vrais besoins sociaux et environnementaux des habitant-e-s des villes, leurs périphéries et dans les zones rurales.

Modes d’action

  • mise en réseau d’acteurs
  • mobilisation, manifestation
  • plaidoyer, lobbying, stratégie d’influence
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information
  • rencontres, échanges, assemblées

Thèmes de travail

  • gestion des territoires
  • migration
  • recherche et innovation sociale
  • communs
  • gouvernance