Centre pour l’action non-violente (CENAC)

Identity card

CENAC defines non-violence with the pithy statement “Not a porcupine, not a doormat”, i.e., do not injure gratuitously, but do not allow yourself to be walked on. The Centre was created in Lausanne in 1968 and initially called the Centre Martin Luther King - CMLK. It was renamed the Centre pour l’action non-violente - CENAC in 2004.

The Centre was built on the Gandhian movement because the association feels that:

  • non-violent action is central,

  • the end is part of the means,

  • conflict, unlike violence, is an intrinsic part of all societies,

  • Gandhi’s ideas have a political dimension,

  • Gandhi has influenced ideas in the West.

This perception does not limit non-violence to a means of protest. Rather, non-violence itself defines the foundations of the society it wishes to build. The ‘Manifesto for a non-violent alternative’ adopted in 1982 by the General Assembly of the Fédération romande des mouvements non-violents, is a concrete example of a Gandhian movement. Gandhi considered non-violence a dynamic above all else, and the CENAC adheres to this idea as well. So conflicts can be considered opportunities to construct fairer and more balanced relationships, and to use combativeness to progress in life—without injuring and without allowing oneself to be walked on. Gandhi’s contributions were an important inspiration to Martin Luther King in his fight to defend the civil rights of black people in the United States.

CENAC’s actions are built on four pillars: inform, train, increase awareness and support.

CENAC PROVIDES A DOCUMENTATION SERVICE with an extensive bibliography on the theme of non-violence: its history, heros, and related current events. The centre publishes a NEWSLETTER on this theme for its members.

It provides an A LA CARTE TRAINING SERVICE to meet the needs of private and public organisations.

It loans explicit EXHIBITS on the theme of non-violence.

CENAC is in CONTACT with many organisations pursuing similar goals in Switzerland and abroad. In Switzerland: International Fellowship of Reconciliation, Group for a Switzerland without an Army In France: Movement for a Non-violent Alternative, Peace Movement, Union Pacifiste de France, Silence.

CENAC supports a VISION OF SOCIETAL CHANGE with its offer of documentation on possibilities for renewal proposed and experimented with by the major figures of non-violence, and by providing training to organisations interested in such change. It demonstrates its commitment to a TRANSITION by supporting non-violent actions aimed at change based on cooperation rather than competition and respect for others rather than profit at all costs.

To support this societal change, CENAC plans to support the creation of a university department to teach non-violence, so that future leaders of society learn to orient their actions in the direction of a progressive change in mindsets and behaviours, for a more harmonious society.

Objectives

CENAC hopes to encourage non-violence everywhere: in the home, in schools, companies and political and social institutions.

Modes of action

  • training
  • books, reviews publishing
  • development of teaching material
  • legal and citizen watch, diffusion of information

Thematic areas

  • governance
  • migration
  • peace
  • ethics
  • citizenship

Centre pour l’action non-violente (CENAC)

Carte d’identité

Le CENAC illustre la non-violence par la formule « Ni hérisson, ni paillasson », ne pas blesser, ne pas se laisser piétiner. Le Centre a été créé en 1968 à Lausanne, sous le nom de « Centre Martin Luther King – CMLK ». Il a été rebaptisé « Centre pour l’action non-violente - CENAC » en 2004.

Le Centre fonde ses origines d’abord sur une mouvance gandhienne, car pour l’association :

  • l’action non-violente constitue une dimension centrale,

  • la fin se trouve dans les moyens,

  • les conflits sont une réalité intrinsèque à toute société - contrairement à la violence,

  • la dimension politique est reconnue,

  • l’influence de Gandhi en Occident est avérée.

Cette perception n’enferme pas la non-violence dans la contestation. Au contraire, elle pose les jalons de la société qu’elle veut édifier. Le « Manifeste pour une alternative non-violente », adopté en 1982 par l’Assemblée générale de la Fédération romande des mouvements non-violents, constitue un exemple concret de la mouvance gandhienne. En outre, Ghandi, tout comme le CENAC, considèrent avant tout la non-violence comme une dynamique. Celle-ci permet de vivre les conflits comme des occasions de construire des relations plus justes et plus équilibrées, d’utiliser la combativité pour progresser dans la vie, sans blesser, ni se laisser piétiner. Martin Luther King, pour défendre les droits civiques des Noirs aux Etats-Unis, s’est largement inspiré des apports de Gandhi.

Quatre piliers constituent les actions du CENAC : informer, former, sensibiliser et accompagner.

Le CENAC PROPOSE UN SERVICE DE DOCUMENTATION avec une bibliographie abondante sur le thème de la non violence, son histoire, ses héros, son actualité. Il publie une LETTRE D’INFORMATION sur ce thème pour ses membres.

Il met à disposition un SERVICE DE FORMATION A LA CARTE pour répondre aux demandes des organismes privés et publics.

Il prête des EXPOSITIONS explicites sur le thème de la non violence.

LE CENAC est en CONTACT avec plusieurs organismes qui poursuivent des buts similaires en Suisse et à l’étranger. En Suisse :Le Mouvement International de la Réconciliation, le Groupe Suisse Sans Armée. En France : Mouvement pour une Alternative non violente, Mouvement de la paix, Union Pacifiste de France, Silence.

Le CENAC porte une VISION DU CHANGEMENT DE SOCIETE par son offre de documentation des possibilités de renouveau proposées et expérimentées par les grandes figures de la non violence et par la formation accordée aux organismes intéressés par un tel changement. Il s’engage pour UNE TRANSITION en accompagnant les actions non violentes en vue d’un tel changement qui se base sur la coopération plutôt que la compétition et le respect des personnes plutôt que sur le profit à tout prix.

Pour porter ce changement de société le CENAC envisage de soutenir la création d’une chaire universitaire pour l’enseignement de la non violence afin de former les cadres de la société à agir dans le sens d’une modification progressive des mentalités et façons d’agir vers un mieux vivre social.

Objectifs

Le CENAC a pour objectif la promotion de la non violence dans tous les domaines : famille, écoles, entreprises, institutions politiques et sociales.

Modes d’action

  • formation
  • publication d’ouvrages, de revues
  • élaboration de matériel pédagogique
  • veille citoyenne et juridique et diffusion d’information

Thèmes de travail

  • gouvernance
  • migration
  • paix
  • éthique
  • citoyenneté